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RULES OF NO-FAULT INSURANCE ARBITRATION PROCEDURE 

 
Rule 1. Purpose and Administration 

a.  The purpose of the Minnesota no-fault arbitration system is to promote the orderly 
and efficient administration of justice in this State.  To this end, the Court, pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.525, and in the exercise of its rule making responsibilities, 
does hereby adopt these rules.  These rules are intended to implement the Minnesota No-
Fault Act. 

 
b. Arbitration under Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.525, shall be administered by a 
standing committee of not less than twelve members to be appointed by the Minnesota 
Supreme Court.  Members shall be appointed for a four-year term commencing on January 
1, with at least three members’ terms expiring each year.  No member shall serve more 
than two full terms and any partial term. 

 
c. The day-to-day administration of arbitration under Minnesota Statutes, section 
65B.525, shall be by an arbitration organization designated by the Standing Committee 
with the concurrence of the Supreme Court.  The administration shall be subject to the 
continuing supervision of the Standing Committee. 

 
(Amended effective January 1, 2019.) 

 
Rule 2. Appointment of Arbitrator 
 
The Standing Committee may conditionally approve and submit to the arbitration 
organization nominees to the panel of arbitrators quarterly in March, June, September and 
December of each year, commencing March 1988.  These nominees then may be included 
in the panel of arbitrators that the Standing Committee shall nominate annually for approval 
by the Supreme Court.  The panel appointed by the Supreme Court shall be certified by the 
Standing Committee to the arbitration organization. 
 
Rule 3. Name of Tribunal 
 
Any tribunal constituted by the parties for the settlement of their dispute under these rules 
shall be called the Minnesota No-Fault Arbitration Tribunal. 
 
  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.525
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.525
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.525
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Rule 4. Administrator 
 
When parties agree to arbitrate under these rules, or when they provide for arbitration by 
the arbitration organization and an arbitration is initiated thereunder, they thereby 
constitute the arbitration organization for the administrator of the arbitration. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 
Rule 5. Initiation of Arbitration 
 
a. Mandatory Arbitration (for claims of $10,000 or less at the commencement of 
arbitration).  At such time as the respondent denies a claim, the respondent shall advise the 
claimant of claimant’s right to demand arbitration.   
 
b. Nonmandatory Arbitration (for claims over $10,000).  At such time as the 
respondent denies a claim, the respondent shall advise the claimant whether or not it is 
willing to submit the claim to arbitration. 
 
c. All Cases.  In all cases the respondent shall also advise the claimant that information 
on arbitration procedures may be obtained from the arbitration organization, giving the 
arbitration organization’s current address and email address.  On request, the arbitration 
organization will provide a claimant with a petition form for initiating arbitration together 
with a copy of these rules.  Arbitration is commenced by the filing of the signed, form, 
together with the required filing fee, with the arbitration organization.  If the claimant  
asserts a claim against more than one insurer, claimant shall so designate upon the 
arbitration petition.  In the event that a respondent claims or asserts that another insurer 
bears some or all of the responsibility for the claim, respondent shall file a petition 
identifying the insurer and setting forth the amount of the claim that it claims is the 
responsibility of another insurer.  Regardless of the number of respondents identified on 
the claim petition, the claim is subject to the jurisdictional limits set forth in Rule 6. 
 
d. Denial of Claim.  If a respondent fails to respond in writing within 30 days after 
reasonable proof of the fact and the amount of loss is duly presented to the respondent, the 
claim shall be deemed denied for the purpose of activating these rules. 
 
e. The claimant shall simultaneously provide a copy of the petition and any supporting 
documents to the respondent and arbitration organization.  The arbitration organization 
shall provide notice to the parties of the commencement of the arbitration.  The filing date 
for purposes of the 30-day response period shall be the date of the arbitration organization’s 
commencement notice.  
 
f. Itemization of Claim.  At the time of filing the arbitration form, or within 30 days 
after, the claimant shall file an itemization of benefits claimed and supporting 
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documentation.  Medical and replacement services claims must detail the names of 
providers, dates of services claimed, and total amounts owing.  Income-loss claims must  
detail employers, rates of pay, dates of loss, method of calculation, and total amounts 
owing. 
 
g. Insurer’s Response.  Within 30 days after receipt of the itemization of benefits 
claimed and supporting documentation from claimant, respondent shall serve a response to 
the petition setting forth all grounds upon which the claim is denied and accompanied by 
all documents supporting denial of the benefits claimed. At the time of serving its response 
to the petition, respondent shall serve any objection to the hearing format claimant selected 
and any objection to claimant’s listed residential address at the time claimant filed the 
petition. Failure to object to the hearing format requested or the residential address used in 
the petition within 30 days constitutes waiver of any such objections.  
 
 (Amended effective December 30, 2022.) 
 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 
 

The addition of an e-mail address, in Rule 5(c), is consistent with the trend of 
facilitating electronic communication.  The term “executed” is removed from Rule 
5(c) to avoid redundancy.   
 
The purpose of the change in Rule 5(e) is to streamline the filing process and 
provide a clear “filing date” for purposes of Rule 5(g), the Insurer’s Response.  
 
The rules consistently use “arbitration organization” when referring to the 
administrator. 

 
 
Rule 6. Jurisdiction in Mandatory Cases  
 
By statute, mandatory arbitration applies to all claims for no-fault benefits or 
comprehensive or collision damage coverage where the total amount of the claim, at the 
commencement of arbitration, is in an amount of $10,000 or less.  In cases where the 
amount of the claim continues to accrue after the petition is filed, the arbitrator shall have 
jurisdiction to determine all amounts claimed including those in excess of $10,000.   
 
If the claimant waives a portion of the claim in order to come within the $10,000 
jurisdictional limit, the claimant must specify within 30 days of filing the claims in excess 
of the $10,000 being waived. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
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Rule 7. Notice 
 
Upon the filing of the petition form, the arbitration organization shall send notice to the 
other party together with a request for payment of the filing fee.   
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 
 

The claimant is the only party who may file a petition for No-Fault arbitration.  In 
order to avoid confusion, the language “by either party” was removed. 
 
Under Rule 5(e), the claimant will not be responsible to furnish a copy of the 
petition to the respondent.  
 
The 20-day notification requirement was removed as it does not serve a necessary 
purpose.   

 
Rule 8. Selection of Arbitrator and Challenge Procedure  
 
The arbitration organization shall send simultaneously to each party to the dispute an 
identical list of four names of persons randomly chosen from the panel of arbitrators who 
have agreed to serve within a 50-mile radius of claimant’s residence at the time of the filing 
of the petition. If the claimant resides outside the state of Minnesota, the list of names shall 
be chosen from the panel of arbitrators who have agreed to serve within a 50-mile radius 
of the Minnesota Judicial Center in Ramsey County, Minnesota, where the Minnesota 
Supreme Court is chambered.  
 
Each party to the dispute shall have seven business days from the date of transmission in 
which to cross out a maximum of one name objected to, number the remaining names in 
order of preference, and return the list to the arbitration organization.  In the event of 
multiparty arbitration, the arbitration organization may increase the number of potential 
arbitrators and divide the strikes so as to afford an equal number of strikes to each adverse 
interest.  If a party does not return the list within the time specified, all persons named 
therein shall be deemed acceptable. 
 
One of the persons who have been approved on both lists shall be invited by the arbitration 
organization to serve in accordance with the designated order of the mutual preference.  
Any objection to an arbitrator based on the arbitrator’s post-appointment disclosure must  
be made within seven business days from the date of transmission of the arbitrator 
disclosure form.  Failure to object to the appointed arbitrator based upon the post-
appointment disclosure within seven business days constitutes waiver of any objections 
based on the post-appointment disclosure, subject to the provisions in Rule 10.  An 
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objection to a potential arbitrator shall be determined initially by the arbitration 
organization, subject to appeal to the Standing Committee.  
 
If an acceptable arbitrator is unable to act, or for any other reason the appointment cannot 
be made from the submitted list, the arbitration organization shall have the power to make 
the appointment from among other members of the panel without the submission of 
additional lists.  If any arbitrator should resign, be disqualified, or unable to perform the 
duties of the office, the arbitration organization shall appoint another arbitrator from the 
no-fault panel to the case. 
 
 (Amended effective December 30, 2022.) 
 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 
 

The change in language is consistent with the trend of facilitating electronic 
communications. 

 
Rule 9. Notice to Arbitrator of Appointment 
 
Notice of the appointment of the neutral arbitrator, whether appointed mutually by the 
parties or by the arbitration organization, shall be transmitted to the arbitrator by the 
arbitration organization and the signed acceptance of the arbitrator shall be filed with the 
arbitration organization prior to the opening of the first hearing. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 
Rule 10. Qualification of Arbitrator and Disclosure Procedure 
 
a. Every member of the panel shall be a licensed attorney at law of this state or a retired 
attorney or judge in good standing.  A lawyer is in good standing if the lawyer meets the 
qualifications for “active status” or “inactive status” under Rule 2.A or 2.B of the Rules of 
the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration.  Requirements for qualification as an arbitrator 
shall be:  

(1) at least 5 years in practice in this state;  
(2) at least one-quarter, based upon a five (5) year average, of the attorney’s practice 

is with auto insurance claims or, for an attorney not actively representing clients, at least  
one-quarter, based upon a five (5) year average, of an ADR practice is with motor vehicle 
claims or no-fault matters;  

(3) completion of an arbitrator training program approved by the No-Fault Standing 
Committee prior to appointment to the panel;  

(4) at least three CLE hours on no-fault issues within the reporting period; and  
(5) arbitrators will be required to re-certify each year, confirming at the time of 

recertification that they continue to meet the above requirements.   
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b. No person shall serve as an arbitrator in any arbitration in which he or she has a 
financial or personal conflict of interest.  Under procedures established by the Standing 
Committee and immediately following appointment to a case, every arbitrator shall be 
required to disclose any circumstances likely to create a presumption or possibility of bias 
or conflict that may disqualify the person as a potential arbitrator.  Every arbitrator shall 
supplement the disclosures as circumstances require.  The fact that an arbitrator or the 
arbitrator’s firm represents automobile accident claimants against insurance companies or 
self-insureds, including the respondent, does not create a presumption of bias.  It is a 
financial conflict of interest if, within the last year, the appointed arbitrator or the 
arbitrator’s firm has been hired by the respondent to represent the respondent or 
respondent’s insureds in a dispute for which the respondent provides insurance coverage.  
It is a financial conflict of interest if the appointed arbitrator received referrals within the 
last year from officers, employees or agents of any entity whose bills are in dispute in the 
arbitration or the arbitrator’s firm has received such referrals. 
 
c. If an arbitrator has been certified and has met the requirements of subdivision (a) 
for the past five years but becomes ineligible for certification under Rule 10(a) due to 
retirement or change in practice, the arbitrator may continue to seek annual certification 
for up to five years from the date of retirement licensure or practice change if the following 
requirements are satisfied: 
 

The arbitrator completes and files an annual No-Fault Arbitrator 
Recertification form which certifies that: 

 
1. He or she is an attorney licensed to practice law in Minnesota and is in good 
standing or a retired attorney or judge in good standing;  
 
2. He or she has retained current knowledge of the Minnesota No-Fault Act 
(Minn. Stat. §§ 65B.41-65B.71), Minnesota appellate court decisions interpreting 
the Act, the Minnesota No-Fault Arbitration Rules, and the Arbitrators’ Standards 
of Conduct; and 
 
3. He or she has attended at least three CLE hours on no-fault issues within the 
reporting period, regardless of whether he or she is in CLE active or inactive status. 
 

The rules regarding bias and conflict of interest as set forth in subdivision (b) remain 
applicable to arbitrators who are recertified under this subdivision (c). 
 
 (Amended effective April 18, 2022.) 
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Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

The conflict-of-interest disclosure requirements in Rule 10 have been broadened to 
promote accountability and fairness.  To ensure prompt and inexpensive 
arbitration with the limited number of available no-fault arbitrators, the disclosure 
requirements are not as broad as the requirements of the Uniform Arbitration Act.  
See Minn. Stat. § 572B.12(a).   
 
Mandatory no-fault arbitration is different from voluntary arbitration governed by 
the Uniform Arbitration Act.  No-fault arbitration is intended to promptly resolve 
relatively small claims for insurance coverage.  See Rule 1 and Minn. Stat. 
§ 65B.42.  Unlike arbitrators appointed under the Uniform Arbitration Act, no-fault 
arbitrators are approved by the standing committee and the Supreme Court, based 
on their willingness and experience with no-fault matters.  This necessarily limits 
the number of no-fault arbitrators.   
 
A change is made in Rule 10(a) to promote consistency between 10(a) and 10(c) in 
the CLE requirement.   
 
The removal of the phrase, “is aware,” in Rule 10(b), adds a greater responsibility 
to ensure that a complete disclosure is made, as well as is now prohibited as a 
financial conflict. 
 
The inclusion of “licensure” in Rule 10(c) provides a clear definition of what 
constitutes a retired arbitrator and when the five-year limit in Rule 10(c) begins to 
run.   

 

Rule 11. Vacancies 
 
If for any reason an arbitrator should be unable to perform the duties of the office, the 
arbitration organization may, on proof satisfactory to it, declare the office vacant. 
Vacancies shall be filled in accordance with the applicable provisions of these rules. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 
Rule 12. Discovery 
 
The voluntary exchange of information is encouraged.  Formal discovery is discouraged  
except that a party is entitled to: 
 

1. exchange of medical reports;  
2. medical authorizations directed to all medical providers consulted by the 

claimant in; the seven years prior to the accident; 
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3. employment records and authorizations for two years prior to the accident, 
when wage loss is in dispute; 

4. supporting documentation required under No-Fault Arbitration Rule 5; and  
5. other exhibits to be offered at the hearing.  
 

However, upon application and good cause shown by any party, the arbitrator may permit  
any discovery allowable under the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure for the District  
Courts.  Any medical examination for which the respondent can establish good cause shall 
be completed within 90 days following the commencement of the case unless extended by 
the arbitrator for good cause. 
 
The Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure shall apply to claims for comprehensive or 
collision damage coverage. 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 
Rule 13. Withdrawal 
 
A claimant may withdraw a petition up until 10 days prior to the hearing, thereafter the 
consent of the respondent shall be required.  The claimant will be responsible for the 
arbitrator’s fee, if any, upon withdrawal.  If the petition is withdrawn after a panel of 
arbitrators is submitted and if the claimant shall file another petition arising from the same 
accident against the same insurer, the same panel of arbitrators shall be resubmitted to the 
claimant and the respondent.  If the petition is withdrawn after the arbitrator is selected and 
if the claimant shall file another petition arising from the same accident against the same 
insurer, the same arbitrator who was earlier assigned shall be reassigned.  The claimant  
who withdraws a petition shall be responsible for all parties’ filing fees incurred upon the 
refiling of the petition. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 
 

The addition codifies the current practice.  
 
 
Rule 14. Date, Time, Format, Venue, and Place of Arbitration  
 
An informal arbitration hearing will be held in one of the following formats: in-person, 
teleconference, videoconference, other electronic medium, or documents only.  The 
arbitrator may fix the date, time, format, and place for the hearing. In person hearings will 
be in the arbitrator’s office or some other appropriate place within a 50-mile radius of the 
claimant’s Minnesota residence as of the date of filing of the petition, or within Ramsey 
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County, Minnesota, if the claimant resides outside the state of Minnesota as of the date of 
filing of the petition.  
 
Notwithstanding the format or physical location of an in-person hearing, venue of the 
arbitration hearing shall be the county of the claimant’s residence as of the date of filing of 
the petition. If the claimant resides outside the state of Minnesota as of the date of filing of 
the petition, the venue of the arbitration proceedings shall be Ramsey County, Minnesota, 
where the Minnesota Supreme Court is chambered. Any appeal or judicial review to the 
district courts shall be to the Minnesota district court of the county in which venue of the 
arbitration is established under this rule.    
 
At least 14 days prior to the hearing, the arbitration organization shall transmit notice 
thereof to each party or to a party’s designated representative.  Notice of hearing may be 
waived by any party.   
 
When an arbitration hearing has been scheduled for a day certain, the courts of the state 
shall recognize the date as the equivalent of a day certain court trial date in the scheduling 
of their calendars. 
 
 (Amended effective December 30, 2022.) 
 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 
 

Switching the order of the second and third sentences promotes consistency.  
 
Rule 15. Postponements 
 
The arbitrator, for good cause shown, may postpone any hearing upon the request of a party 
or upon the arbitrator’s own initiative, and shall also grant such postponement when all of 
the parties agree thereto.  The party requesting a postponement will be billed for the cost 
of the rescheduling; if, however, the arbitrator determines that a postponement was 
necessitated by a party’s failure to cooperate in providing information required under Rule 
5 or Rule 12, the arbitrator may assess the rescheduling fee to that party. 
 
Rule 16. Representation 
 
Any party may be represented by counsel or other representative named by that party.  A 
party intending to be so represented shall notify the other party and the arbitration 
organization of the name, mailing address, and email address of the representative at least  
three days prior to the date set for the hearing at which that person is first to appear.  When 
such a representative initiates an arbitration or responds for a party, notice is deemed to 
have been given. 
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If counsel or other representative named by the claimant withdraws from representation of 
any pending matter, the claim shall be dismissed, unless the claimant advises the arbitration 
organization of the intention to proceed pro se or a replacement counsel or representative 
is named within 30 days of the sending of the notice of withdrawal. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 
 

The amendment in the first paragraph is consistent with the trend of facilitating 
electronic communications.  A similar change has been recommended to the Rules 
of Civil Procedure.  
 
There have been an increasing number of representatives withdrawing from 
representation of claimants.  This has resulted in a number of unresponsive or 
unreachable pro se claimants.  The language added as the second paragraph of 
this rule will provide a clear process to follow, for arbitrators, the arbitration 
organization, and pro se claimants in the event of a withdrawal.   

 

Rule 17. Stenographic Record 
 
Any party desiring an audio or stenographic record shall make arrangements directly with 
a stenographer and shall notify the other party of these arrangements at least 24 hours in 
advance of the hearing.  The requesting party or parties shall pay the cost of the record.  If 
the transcript is agreed by the parties to be, or determined by the arbitrator to be, the official 
record of the proceeding, it must be made available to the arbitrator and to the other parties 
for inspection, at a date, time, and place determined by the arbitrator. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 
Rule 18. Interpreters 
 
Any party desiring an interpreter shall make all arrangements directly with the interpreter 
and shall assume the costs of the service.  The arbitrator may assess the cost of an 
interpreter pursuant to Rule 42. 
 
Interpreters must be independent of the parties, counsel, and named representatives.  All 
interpreters must abide by the Code of Professional Responsibility for Interpreters in the 
Minnesota State Court System. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
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Rule 19. Attendance at Hearing 
 
The arbitrator shall maintain the privacy of the hearings.  Any person having a direct 
interest in the arbitration is entitled to attend hearings.  The arbitrator shall otherwise have 
the power to require the exclusion of any witness, other than a party or other essential 
person, during the testimony of any other witness. 
 
Rule 20. Oaths 
 
Arbitrators, upon accepting appointment to the panel, shall take an oath or affirmation of 
office.  The arbitrator may require witnesses to testify under oath or affirmation. 
 
Rule 21. Order of Proceedings and Communication with Arbitrator 
 
The hearing shall be opened by the recording of the date, time, and place of the hearing, 
and the presence of the arbitrator, the parties, and their representatives, if any.  Either party 
may make an opening statement regarding the claim.  The claimant shall then present  
evidence to support the claim.  The respondent shall then present evidence supporting the 
defense.  Witnesses for each party shall submit to questions or other examination.  The 
arbitrator has the discretion to vary this procedure, but shall afford a full and equal 
opportunity to all parties for the presentation of any material and relevant evidence.  
Exhibits, when offered by either party, may be received in evidence by the arbitrator. 
 
The names and addresses of all witnesses and description of the exhibits in the order 
received shall be made part of the record.  There shall be no direct communication between 
the arbitrator and the parties other than at the hearing, unless otherwise advised by the 
arbitration organization or by agreement of the parties and arbitrator.  However, an 
arbitrator may directly contact the parties, but such communication is limited to 
administrative matters.  Any direct communication between the arbitrator and parties must  
be conveyed to the arbitration organization, except communications at the hearing.  Pre-
hearing exhibits can be sent directly to the arbitrator, delivered in the same manner and at 
the same time to the opposing party.  Parties are encouraged to submit any pre-hearing 
exhibits at least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled hearing.  If the exhibits are not 
provided to opposing counsel and the arbitrator at least 24 hours before the hearing or if 
the exhibits contain new information and opposing counsel has not had a reasonable 
amount of time to review and respond to the information, the arbitrator may hold the record 
open until the parties have had time to review and respond to the material or reconvene the 
arbitration at a later date.  Any other oral or written communication from the parties to the 
arbitrator shall be directed to the arbitration organization for transmittal to the arbitrator. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
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Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 
 

The inclusion of the additional language will expedite administration.  
 
 
Rule 22. Arbitration in the Absence of a Party or Representative 
 
Unless the law provides to the contrary, the arbitration may proceed in the absence of any 
party or representative who, after due notice, fails to be present or fails to obtain a 
postponement.  An award shall not be made solely on the default of a party.  The arbitrator 
shall require the party who is present to submit such evidence as the arbitrator may require 
for the making of an award. 
 
Rule 23. Witnesses, Subpoenas and Depositions 
 
a. Through the arbitration organization, the arbitrator may, on the arbitrator’s initiative 
or at the request of any party, issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses at the 
arbitration hearing or at such deposition as ordered under Rule 12, and the production of 
books, records, documents and other evidence.  The subpoenas so issued shall be served, 
and upon application to the district court by either party or the arbitrator, enforced in the 
manner provided by law for the service and enforcement of subpoenas for a civil action. 
 
b. All provisions of law compelling a person under subpoena to testify are applicable.  
 
c. Fees for attendance as a witness shall be the same as for a witness in the district 
courts.  
 
Rule 24. Evidence 
 
The parties may offer such evidence as they desire and shall produce such additional 
evidence as the arbitrator may deem necessary to an understanding and determination of 
the issues.  The arbitrator shall be the judge of the relevancy and materiality of any evidence 
offered, and conformity to legal rules of evidence shall not be necessary.  The parties shall 
be encouraged to offer, and the arbitrator shall be encouraged to receive and consider, 
evidence by affidavit or other document, including medical reports, statements of 
witnesses, officers, accident reports, medical texts and other similar written documents that 
would not ordinarily be admissible as evidence in the courts of this state.  In receiving this 
evidence, the arbitrator shall consider any objections to its admission in determining the 
weight to which he or she deems it is entitled. 
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Rule 25. Close of Hearing 
 
The arbitrator shall specifically inquire of all parties as to whether they have any further 
evidence.  If they do not, the arbitrator shall declare the hearing closed.  If briefs or 
documents are to be filed, the hearing shall be declared closed as of the final date set by 
the arbitrator for the receipt of said documents.  The time limit within which the arbitrator 
is required to make his or her award shall commence to run upon the close of the hearing. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 
Rule 26. Re-opening the Hearing 
 
At any time before the award is made, a hearing may be reopened by the arbitrator on the 
arbitrator’s own motion, or upon application of a party for good cause shown. 
 
Rule 27. Waiver of Oral Hearing 
 
The parties may provide, by written agreement, for the waiver of oral hearings in any case.  
If the parties are unable to agree as to the procedure, the arbitration organization shall 
specify a fair and equitable procedure. 
 
Rule 28. Extensions of Time 
 
The parties may modify any period of time by mutual agreement.  The arbitration 
organization or the arbitrator may for good cause extend any period of time established by 
these rules, except the time for making the award.  The arbitration organization shall notify 
the parties of any extension. 
 
Rule 29. Serving of Notice 
 
Each party waives the requirements of Minn. Stat. § 572B.20 and shall be deemed to have 
agreed that any notices or process necessary or proper for the initiation or continuation of 
an arbitration under these rules; for any court action in connection herewith including 
application for the confirmation, vacation, modification, or correction of an award issued  
hereunder as provided in Rule 38; or for the entry of judgment on any award made under 
these rules may be served on a party by mail or electronic means addressed to the party or 
its representative at the last known address or by personal service, in or outside the state 
where the arbitration is to be held, provided that reasonable opportunity to be heard with 
regard thereto has been granted to the party. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
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Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 
 

The term “electronic means” was added to the first paragraph, therefore the entire 
second paragraph is redundant.    

 
Rule 30. Time of Award 
 
The award shall be made promptly by the arbitrator, unless otherwise agreed by the parties 
or specified by law, no later than 30 days from the date of closing the hearing, or if oral 
hearings have been waived, from the date of the arbitration organization’s transmittal of 
the final statements and proofs to the arbitrator.  In the event the 30th day falls on a 
weekend or federal holiday, the award shall be made no later than the next business day.   
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 
Rule 31. Form of Award 
 
The award shall be in writing and shall be signed by the arbitrator.  It shall be executed in 
the manner required by law. 
 
Rule 32. Scope of Award 
 
The arbitrator may grant any remedy or relief that the arbitrator deems just and equitable 
consistent with the Minnesota No-Fault Act.  The arbitrator may, in the award, include 
arbitration fees, expenses, rescheduling fees and compensation as provided in Rules 39, 
40, 41 and 42 in favor of any party and, in the event that any administrative fees or expenses 
are due the arbitration organization, in favor of the arbitration organization, except that the 
arbitrator must award interest when required by Minn. Stat. § 65B.54.  The arbitrator may 
not, in the award, include attorneys fees for either party.  
 
Given the informal nature of no-fault arbitration proceedings, the no-fault award shall not 
be the basis for a claim of estoppel or waiver in any other proceeding. 
 
Rule 33. Delivery of Award to Parties 
 
The award may be delivered to the parties or their representatives by the arbitration 
organization by mail, electronic means, personal service, or any other manner permitted by 
law. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
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Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 
 

References to copies are removed because in an electronic environment, the 
concepts “original” and “copy” are often without meaning.    

 
Rule 34. Waiver of Rules 
 
Any party who proceeds with the arbitration after knowledge that any provision or 
requirement of these rules has not been complied with and who fails to state an objection 
thereto in writing shall be deemed to have waived the right to object. 
 
Rule 35. Interpretation and Application of Rules 
 
The arbitrator shall interpret and apply these rules insofar as they relate to the arbitrator’s 
powers and duties.  All other rules shall be interpreted by the arbitration organization. 
 
Rule 36. Release of Documents for Judicial Proceedings 
 
The arbitration organization shall, upon the written request of a party, furnish to the party, 
at its expense, certified copies of any documents in the arbitration organization’s 
possession that may be required in judicial proceedings relating to the arbitration. 
 
The arbitration organization shall not release documents that are privileged or otherwise 
protected by law from disclosure.  This includes, but is not limited to, any notes, 
memoranda, or drafts thereof prepared by the arbitrator or employee of the arbitrator that 
were used in the process of preparing the award, and any internal communications between 
members of the standing committee made as part of the committee’s deliberative process.   
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 
Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
The No-Fault Standing Committee concluded that some documents and 
communications are privileged and are therefore protected from disclosure.  The 
language is based on Rule 45.03(c) of the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure, 
which limits the use of subpoenas to compel disclosure of privileged material, and 
upon Rule 4(c) of the Rules of Public Access to Records of the Judicial Branch, 
which provides that judicial work product is not accessible to the public.  
 

 
 
 
 



18 
 

Rule 37. Applications to Court and Exclusion of Liability 
 
a. No judicial proceedings by a party relating to the subject matter of the arbitration 
shall be deemed a waiver of the party’s right to arbitrate. 

 
b. Neither the arbitration organization nor any arbitrator in a proceeding under these 
rules can be made a witness or is a necessary party in judicial proceedings relating to the 
arbitration. 

 
c. Parties to proceedings governed by these rules shall be deemed to have consented 
that judgment upon the arbitration award may be entered in any federal or state court having 
jurisdiction thereof. 

 
d. Neither the arbitration organization nor any arbitrator shall be liable to any party for 
any act or omission in connection with any arbitration conducted under these rules. 

 
(Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 
Rule 38. Confirmation, Vacation, Modification, or Correction of Award 
 
The provisions of Minn. Stat. § 572B.01 through § 572B.31 shall apply to the confirmation, 
vacation, modification, or correction of award issued hereunder, except that service of 
process pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 572B.05 shall be made as provided in Rule 29 of these 
rules. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 
 

 Minnesota Statutes § 572 was repealed.   
 
Rule 39. Administrative Fees 
 
The initial fee is due and payable at the time of filing and shall be paid as follows: by the 
claimant, $40.00; by the respondent, $150.00.  In the event that there is more than one 
respondent in an action, each respondent shall pay the $150.00 fee.   
 
Upon review of a petition, if the arbitration organization determines that a claim was filed 
in error, the organization may require that payment of respondent’s filing fee be assessed  
against the claimant.   
 
The arbitration organization may, in the event of extreme hardship on the part of any party, 
defer or reduce the administrative fee.  
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 (Amended effective September 1, 2016.) 

 
Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
The arbitration organization receives filings in error from time to time.  In order to 
relieve the respondent from the cost of these errors, the amendment allows the 
arbitration organization to shift the administrative fee to the party responsible for 
the error. 
 

Rule 40. Arbitrator’s Fees 
 
a. An arbitrator shall be compensated for services and for any use of office facilities 
in the amount of $300 per case. 

 
b. If the arbitration organization is notified of a settlement or a withdrawal of a claim 
at any time up to 24 hours prior to the scheduled hearing, but after the appointment of the 
arbitrator, the arbitrator’s fee shall be $50.  If the arbitration organization is notified of a 
postponement, settlement or a withdrawal of a claim 24 hours or less prior to the scheduled 
hearing, the arbitrator’s fee shall be $300.  Unless the parties agree otherwise, the fee in a 
settlement shall be assessed equally to the parties, the fee in a withdrawal shall be borne 
by claimant, and the fee in a postponement shall be borne by the requesting party.  
Regardless of the resolution of the case, the arbitrator’s fee shall not exceed $300 and is 
subject to the provisions of Rule 15. 

 
c. An arbitrator serving on a court-ordered consolidated glass case shall be 
compensated at a rate of $200.00 per hour. 

 
d. Once a hearing is commenced, the arbitrator shall direct assessment of the fee.  

 
(Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 

 
Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 

 
In response to Illinois Farmers Insurance Company v. Glass Service Co., 683 
N.W.2d 792 (Minn. 2004), the No-Fault Standing Committee issued a resolution in 
which a rate of $200.00 per hour may be charged on court-ordered consolidated 
glass cases.   
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Rule 41. Rescheduling or Cancellation Fees 
 
A party requesting to reschedule or cancel a hearing shall be charged a fee of $100.00, 
provided that the request does not fall within the provisions of Rule 40.b that specifically 
address settlement or withdrawal. 
 
 (Amended effective March 1, 2016.) 
 

Advisory Committee Comment (2015) 
 
 Fees are at a flat rate of $100.00. 
 
Rule 42. Expenses and Payment of Fees Invoiced by the Arbitration Organization 
 
Generally each side should pay its own expenses.  An arbitrator does, however, have the 
discretion to direct a party or parties to pay expenses as part of an award. 
 
The arbitration organization shall charge simple interest at the rate of 15 percent per annum 
on fees assessed pursuant to Rule(s) 39, 40, and 41 but not paid within 60 days of the date 
of an invoice.  The No-Fault Standing Committee is authorized to adopt by policy statement 
or resolution procedures to enforce payment of overdue Rule 39, 40, and 41 fees. 
 
 (Amended effective April 18, 2022.) 
 
Rule 43. Amendment or Modification 
 
The Standing Committee may propose amendments to these rules as circumstances may 
require.  All changes in these rules and all other determinations of the Standing Committee 
shall be subject to review and approval by the Minnesota Supreme Court. 
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APPENDIX 
 

Standards of Conduct 

Minnesota No-Fault Arbitrators 
 
Preamble 

No-Fault Arbitrators, like judges, have the power to decide cases. Therefore, 
arbitrators undertake serious responsibilities to the public, as well as to the parties. In order 
for the system to succeed, the public must have the utmost confidence in the arbitration 
process and the arbitrators who serve on the No-Fault Panel. To this end, these Standards 
of Conduct for Minnesota No-Fault Arbitrators have been established by the No-Fault  
Standing Committee. The purpose of these Standards is to provide guidance in order to 
promote a fair, neutral, and impartial panel of arbitrators. 

 
I. Integrity and Fairness 
An arbitrator shall at all times act in a manner that promotes public confidence in 
the integrity and impartiality of the arbitration process. 

A. An arbitrator has a responsibility not only to the parties but also to the process of 
arbitration itself, and must observe high standards of conduct so that the integrity and 
fairness of the process will be preserved. Accordingly, an arbitrator should recognize a 
responsibility to the public, to the parties whose rights will be decided, and to all other 
participants in the proceedings. 

B. Arbitrators shall conduct themselves in a way that is fair to all parties and should 
not be swayed by outside pressure, public clamor, fear of criticism, or self-interest . 
Arbitrators shall avoid conduct and statements which give the appearance of partiality. 

C. An arbitrator shall conduct the arbitration process in a manner which advances the 
fair and efficient resolution of the matters submitted for decision. An arbitrator shall make 
all reasonable efforts to prevent delaying tactics, harassment of parties or other participants, 
or other abuse or disruption of the arbitration process. 

D. An arbitrator who withdraws prior to the completion of the arbitration, whether 
upon the arbitrator’s initiative or upon the request of one or more of the parties, shall take 
reasonable steps to protect the interests of the parties in the arbitration, including return or 
destruction of evidentiary materials and the protection of confidentiality. 

 
II. Disclosures 
An arbitrator shall make a full and complete disclosure of any interests or 
relationships pursuant to Rule 10. 

A. An arbitrator shall make all disclosures as required under Rule 10. 
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B. The obligation to disclose interests or relationships described in paragraph A is a 
continuing duty which requires the arbitrator to disclose, as soon as practicable, at any 
stage of the arbitration, any such interests or relationships which may arise, or which are 
called to the arbitrator’s attention, or discovered. 

C. Any doubts as to whether or not disclosure should be made shall be resolved in 
favor of disclosure. 

 
III. Communications 
An arbitrator shall avoid impropriety or even the appearance of impropriety in 
communicating with parties. 

A. An arbitrator shall not discuss a proceeding with any party or attorney in the 
absence of any other party or attorney. 

B. An arbitrator shall not have any direct communication other than what is prescribed  
in Rule 21. 

C. If a party or attorney attempts to communicate directly with the arbitrator, the 
arbitrator shall notify the arbitration organization. 

D. When an arbitrator communicates in writing with one party, the arbitrator shall at 
the same time send a copy of the communication to every other party. 

 
IV. Hearing Proceedings 
An arbitrator shall conduct the proceedings fairly and diligently. 

A. An arbitrator shall conduct the proceedings in an even-handed manner. The 
arbitrator should be patient and courteous to the parties, their representatives, and the 
witnesses and should encourage similar conduct by all participants. 

B. The arbitrator shall afford to all parties the right to be heard. The arbitrator shall 
allow each party a fair opportunity to present evidence and arguments. 

C. If a party fails to appear after due notice, the arbitrator may proceed with the 
arbitration when authorized to do so, but only after receiving assurance that appropriate 
notice has been given to the absent party. Arbitrators must comply with Rule 22. 

D. An arbitrator shall not exert pressure on any party to settle or to utilize other dispute 
resolution processes. An arbitrator shall not be present or otherwise participate in 
settlement discussions or act as a mediator unless requested to do so, in writing, by all 
parties and their representatives. 
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V. Decisions, Orders, and Awards 
An arbitrator shall make decisions in a just, independent, and deliberate manner. 

A. The arbitrator shall, after careful deliberation, decide only those issues submitted 
for determination. 

B. An arbitrator shall decide all matters justly, exercising independent judgment, and 
shall not permit outside pressure or other considerations to affect the decision. 

C. An arbitrator shall not delegate the duty to decide to any other person. 
D. An arbitrator shall make a determination based on the evidence presented. An 

award must be supported by the evidence. 
 

VI. Trust and Confidentiality 
An arbitrator shall be faithful to the relationship of trust and confidentiality inherent 
in that office. 

A. An arbitrator is in a relationship of trust to the parties and shall not, at any time, use 
confidential information acquired during the arbitration proceeding to gain personal 
advantage or advantage for others, or to affect adversely the interest of another. 

B. The arbitrator shall keep confidential all matters relating to the arbitration 
proceedings and decision. 

C. It is improper, at any time, for an arbitrator to inform anyone of any decision in 
advance of the time it is given to all parties. After an arbitration award has been made, it is 
improper for an arbitrator to assist, in any way, in proceedings to enforce or challenge the 
award. 

 
VII. Time and Availability 
An arbitrator shall devote the time and attention to each case in order to promote 
efficiency. 

A. An arbitrator shall promptly schedule and be prepared for hearings. 
B. An arbitrator shall not delay the process and shall not postpone a hearing, except 

for good cause. 
C. An arbitrator shall promptly file decisions of any pending issues and shall issue an 

award within 30 calendar days of the closure of the record. 
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VIII. Arbitrator Qualifications 
An arbitrator must continue to meet the qualifications under Rule 10 in order to serve 
on the Minnesota No-Fault Panel. 

A. In accordance with Rule 10, a lawyer or retired judge must be in “good standing.”  
A lawyer is in good standing if the lawyer meets the qualifications for “active status” or 
“inactive status” under Rule 2.A or 2.B of the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer 
Registration.  A determination by the Minnesota Supreme Court in a disciplinary 
proceeding commenced by the Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility or the 
Minnesota Board on Judicial Standards that the lawyer or judge shall be disbarred, 
involuntarily retired, suspended, or placed on disability status is conclusive and will not be 
reconsidered by the No-Fault Standing Committee. 

B. An arbitrator shall be faithful to the law and shall maintain professional competence 
in it. 

1.  An arbitrator’s conviction of a felony or a crime that involves fraud or dishonesty 
is evidence of not being faithful to the law.  

a) The No-Fault Standing Committee may consider evidence of such a conviction 
as grounds to suspend and/or recommend removal from the panel.  
b) Notwithstanding the foregoing, if the Minnesota Supreme Court determines 
through a disciplinary proceeding commenced by the Office of Lawyers 
Professional Responsibility or the Minnesota Board on Judicial Standards that 
despite such conviction, an arbitrator is not disbarred or suspended, the result of 
which is that the arbitrator may remain in “good standing” at least as to the 
requirements under Rules 2.A(3) and 2.B(3) of the Minnesota Supreme Court 
Rules on Lawyer Registration, said determination shall be a final determination 
that the arbitrator is faithful to the law. 

2.  The No-Fault Standing Committee may place an arbitrator charged with a felony 
or a crime that involves fraud or dishonesty on temporary inactive status. 

C. An arbitrator shall file a timely and accurate recertification form on an annual basis. 
D. An arbitrator shall provide evidence of qualifications upon request by the arbitration 

organization, No-Fault Standing Committee, or Minnesota Supreme Court. 
 

IX. Enforcement Procedures 
Preamble 
No-Fault Arbitrators are given broad discretion to make decisions and oversee the No-Fault  
arbitration process. Therefore, in order to ensure the protection of the public, an arbitrator 
who violates the above Standards is subject to the procedures outlined below. 
Application: Inclusion on the No-Fault Panel of Arbitrators is a conditional privilege, 
revocable for cause. 
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Scope: These procedures apply to complaints against any No-Fault Arbitrator who has been 
approved to serve on the No-Fault Panel by the Minnesota Supreme Court, as well as those 
conditionally approved by the No-Fault Standing Committee. 

A. Complaint 
1. A complaint must be in writing, signed by the complainant and filed with the 
arbitration organization. The complaint shall identify the arbitrator and the basis 
for the complaint. 
2. Alternatively, if the arbitration organization becomes aware of a violation of 
these Standards of Conduct and is unable to remedy such violation, the 
organization shall notify the No-Fault Standing Committee as outlined in these 
procedures. 
3. The arbitration organization shall provide a copy of the complaint and 
supporting documents to the arbitrator. 
4. The arbitration organization shall notify the No-Fault Standing Committee, 
which will assign an investigative member or members to investigate the 
allegation(s). 

B. Investigation 
1. The assigned committee member(s) will undertake such review, investigation, 
and action as it deems appropriate. In all such cases, the member(s) will contact 
the arbitrator and complainant to review the allegations and may request  
additional notes, records, or recollection of the arbitration process. It shall not be 
considered a violation of these Standards for the arbitrator to make such 
disclosures as part of the investigation. The member(s) may also request the 
arbitration organization disclose any records pertinent to the investigation. 
2. Once the investigation has been completed, the member(s) will draft a written 
memorandum, which shall include findings, conclusions, and recommendations. 
This memorandum will be provided to the full Committee at the next quarterly 
meeting. 
3. If the recommendation is for removal, suspension, or a public reprimand, the 
arbitrator shall be notified, and shall have the right to appear before the No-Fault  
Standing Committee prior to deliberations on the complaint. 
4. The No-Fault Standing Committee shall review the memorandum and 
determine whether the allegation(s) constitute a violation of the Standards of 
Conduct, and if so, recommend what sanction(s) would be appropriate. The 
Committee shall select a member to draft a Notice of the Committee’s decision. 
The decision must include the findings, conclusions, and sanctions, if any. 
5. The arbitration organization shall circulate the Notice to the arbitrator and 
complainant. 
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C. Sanctions 
The No-Fault Standing Committee may impose sanctions, including, but not 
limited to: 
1. Removal from the Panel with set conditions for reinstatement, if appropriate. 
Should the Committee determine that removal is appropriate, such 
recommendation will be made to the Minnesota Supreme Court; 

2. Suspension for a period of time; 
3. The issuance of a public reprimand. The reprimand will be posted on the 
arbitration organization's Web site, which shall include publishing the arbitrator’s 
name, a summary of the violation, and any sanctions imposed. The public 
reprimand may also be published elsewhere; 
4. The issuance of a private reprimand; 
5. The provision of “Best Practices” Information; 
6. The imposition of retraining requirements; 
7. Supervision of the arbitrator’s service for a period of time by a designee of the 
No-Fault Standing Committee; and 
8. The notification of any professional licensing authority with which the 
arbitrator is affiliated, of the complaint and its disposition. 

D. Request for Appearance 
If the recommendation by the investigative member(s) is to remove, suspend, or 
issue a public reprimand, an arbitrator may make a written request to the 
arbitration organization to appear before the No-Fault Standing Committee. After 
the arbitrator has been notified of the recommendation, the arbitrator has 15 
calendar days from the date of the notice to request an appearance. 

E. Confidentiality 
All files, records, and proceedings of the No-Fault Standing Committee which 
relate to or arise out of any complaint shall be confidential, except: 

1. As between Committee members and the arbitration organization; 
2. As otherwise required by law by rule or statute. 
If the Committee designates a sanction as public, the sanction and the grounds for 
the sanction shall be of public record, but the Committee’s file shall remain 
confidential. Confidential documents, memoranda, and communications shall 
include the deliberations, mental processes, and communications of the 
Committee and arbitration organization. 
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F. Immunity 
The members of the No-Fault Standing Committee and the arbitration 
organization shall be immune from suit for any conduct in the course of their 
official duties. 
 

(Added effective January 1, 2018.) 
 
(Amended effective April 18, 2022.) 
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