

### STATE OF MINNESOTA SPECIAL REDISTRICTING PANEL A21-0243 A21-0546

October 12, 2021

APPELLATE COURTS

Peter S. Wattson, Joseph Mansky, Nancy B. Greenwood, Mary E. Kupper, Douglas W. Backstrom and James E. Hougas III, individually and on behalf of all citizens and voting residents of Minnesota similarly situated, and League of Women Voters Minnesota,

Plaintiffs,

and

Paul Anderson, Ida Lano, Chuck Brusven, Karen Lane, Joel Hineman, Carol Wegner, and Daniel Schonhardt,

**Plaintiff-Intervenors** 

vs.

Steve Simon, Secretary of State of Minnesota; and Kendra Olson, Carver County Elections and Licensing Manager, individually and on behalf of all Minnesota county chief election officers,

Defendants,

and

Frank Sachs, Dagny Heimisdottir, Michael Arulfo, Tanwi Prigge, Jennifer Guertin, Garrison O'Keith McMurtrey, Mara Lee Glubka, Jeffrey Strand, Danielle Main, and Wayne Grimmer,

Plaintiffs,

### STIPULATION REGARDING PROPOSED REDISTRICTING PRINCIPLES

and

Dr. Bruce Corrie, Shelly Diaz, Alberder Gillespie, Xiongpao Lee, Abdirazak Mahboub, Aida Simon, Beatriz Winters, Common Cause, OneMinnesota.org, and Voices for Racial Justice,

Plaintiff-Intervenors,

vs.

Steve Simon, Secretary of State of Minnesota,

Defendant.

#### **PROPOSED REDISTRICTING PRINCIPLES**

On August 24, 2021, the Minnesota Special Redistricting Panel (the "Panel") ordered that the parties work toward a stipulation on proposed redistricting principles. The parties hereto, by and through their respective undersigned attorneys of record, hereby agree as follows:

#### **Congressional Districts**

1. There shall be eight congressional districts with a single representative for each district. The district numbers shall begin with Congressional District 1 in the southeast corner of the state and end with Congressional District 8 in the northeast corner of the state.

#### **Legislative Districts**

1. There shall be 67 state senate districts with one senator for each district. Minn. Stat. §§ 2.021, 2.031, subd. 1. There shall be 134 state house districts with one representative for each district. *Id*. 2. No state house district shall be divided in the formation of a state senate district. Minn. Const. art. IV, § 3.

### **Agreement Regarding Service of Plans**

1. The parties agree to accept service of reports, maps, and proposed plans by email or other mutually agreeable form of electronic service, such as FTP site. The parties should not be required to physically serve paper maps, reports, or proposed plans on each other. While the parties have agreed that service of paper maps, reports, or proposed plans on each other need not be required, the parties will submit paper maps to the Panel if the Panel so directs.

Respectfully submitted,

### LOCKRIDGE GRINDAL NAUEN P.L.L.P.

s/Charles N. Nauen Charles N. Nauen (#121216) David J. Zoll (#0330681) Kristen G. Marttila (#346007) Rachel A. Kitze Collins (#0396555) 100 Washington Avenue South, Suite 2200 Minneapolis, MN 55401-2159 (612) 339-6900 cnnauen@locklaw.com djzoll@locklaw.com kgmarttila@locklaw.com rakitzecollins@locklaw.com

Marc E. Elias\* Aria C. Branch\* Daniel C. Osher\* Jyoti Jasrasaria\* ELIAS LAW GROUP LLP 10 G Street NE, Suite 600 Washington, D.C. 20002 (202) 968-4490 MElias@elias.law ABranch@elias.law JJasrasaria@elias.law

Abha Khanna\* Ben Stafford\* Jonathan P. Hawley\* ELIAS LAW GROUP LLP 1700 Seventh Avenue, Suite 2100 Seattle, WA 98101 (206) 656-0177 <u>AKhanna@elias.law</u> <u>BStafford@elias.law</u> JHawley@elias.law

\*Admitted *pro hac vice* 

Attorneys for Plaintiffs Frank Sachs; Dagny Heimisdottir; Michael Arulfo; Tanwi Prigge; Jennifer Guertin; Garrison O'Keith McMurtrey; Mara Lee Glubka; Jeffrey Strand; Danielle Main; and Wayne Grimmer

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES H. GILBERT LAW GROUP, P.L.L.C.

s/Adam L. Sienkowski James H. Gilbert (0034708) Adam L. Sienkowski (0395659) Jody E. Nahlovsky (0330139) 12700 Anderson Lakes Parkway Eden Prairie, MN 55344 (952) 767-0167 asienkowski@lawgilbert.com

Attorneys for Plaintiffs Peter S. Wattson, Joseph Mansky, Nancy B. Greenwood, Mary E. Kupper, Douglas W. Backstrom, James E. Hougas, III and League of Women Voters Minnesota

Dated: October 12, 2021

Respectfully submitted,

TAFT STETTINIUS & HOLLISTER LLP

<u>/s/ Elizabeth M. Brama</u> Elizabeth M. Brama (#0301747) EBrama@Taftlaw.com Maren M. Forde (#0390221) MForde@Taftlaw.com Samuel N. Louwagie (#0400885) SLouwagie@Taftlaw.com 2200 IDS Center 80 South 8th Street Minneapolis, MN 55402 Telephone: (612) 977-8400 Facsimile: (612) 977-8650

Attorneys for Plaintiffs Paul Anderson, Ida Lano, Chuck Brusven, Karen Lane, Joel Hineman, Carol Wegner, and Daniel Schonhardt

Respectfully submitted,

#### LATHROP GPM

/s/Brian A. Dillon

Brian A. Dillon (MN #0386643) Amy Erickson (MN # 0399214) 80 South Eighth Street 500 IDS Center Minneapolis, MN 55402 Phone: 612-632-3000 brian.dillon@lathropgpm.com amy.erickson@lathropgpm.com

Attorneys for Dr. Bruce Corrie, Shelly Diaz, Alberder Gillespie, Xiongpao Lee, Abdirizak Mahboub, Aida Simon, Beatriz Winters, Common Cause, OneMinnesota.org, and Voices for Racial Justice

Dated: October 12, 2021

Respectfully submitted,

KEITH ELLISON Attorney General State of Minnesota

/s/ Nathan J. Hartshorn ANGELA BEHRENS, Atty. # 0351076 NATHAN J. HARTSHORN, Atty. # 0320602 Assistant Attorneys General 445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400 St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2134 (651) 757-1252 (Voice) (651) 297-1235 (Fax) nathan.hartshorn@ag.state.mn.us

Attorneys for Respondent Simon

Respectfully submitted,

## MARK METZ CARVER COUNTY ATTORNEY

/s/ Jennifer K. Tichey

By: Jennifer K. Tichey Assistant Carver County Attorney Attorney License No. 0279821

> Government Center, Justice Center 604 East 4th Street Chaska, Minnesota 55318-2188 Phone: (952) 361-1400 Facsimile: (952) 361-1413 jtichey@co.carver.mn.us

# Attorney for Respondent Kendra Olson