Please take the our Access and Fairness Survey. Your feedback is important to us. Responses to the survey will inform website improvements.
Please take the survey after you have completed your business on the Judicial Branch website. Thank you for your participation.

News Item
Stephen J. Wentzell Appointed to Fill Eighth Judicial District Vacancy

Posted: Friday, September 15, 2017

Today, Governor Mark Dayton announced the appointment of Stephen J. Wentzell as a District Court Judge in Minnesota’s Eighth Judicial District. Mr. Wentzell will replace the Honorable Donald M. Spilseth, and will be chambered at Willmar in Kandiyohi County.
“Stephen Wentzell has demonstrated his deep commitment to public service through his professional work and community involvement in Willmar,” said Governor Dayton. “I congratulate him upon this opportunity to continue that service as a District Court Judge in Kandiyohi County.”
Mr. Wentzell is the First Assistant Kandiyohi County Attorney, where he assists in the supervision of the office, provides legal advice to county departments, and maintains a criminal, juvenile, and civil commitment caseload. Previously, he was an Assistant Kandiyohi County Attorney and a law clerk for the Honorable David L. Mennis in the Eighth Judicial District. He earned a B.A. in Political Science and Organizational Communications from Concordia College, Moorhead and a J.D. from Mitchell Hamline School of Law.
Mr. Wentzell is a member of the Willmar Rotary Club, a volunteer youth hockey coach, a member and past President of West Central Ducks Unlimited, and a member of several interagency committees.
Minnesota’s Eight Judicial District consists of Big Stone, Chippewa, Grant, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Meeker, Pope, Renville, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkins, and Yellow Medicine Counties.