News Item
Tenth Judicial District Chief Judge and Assistant Chief Judge Announced

Posted: Monday, April 9, 2018

The Honorable Douglas B. Meslow has been re-elected as chief judge of Minnesota’s Tenth Judicial District by his fellow district court judges. He will serve his second two-year term as chief judge beginning July 1, 2018. 
Chief Judge Meslow has served the Tenth Judicial District since December 2006. He has served as chief judge for the past two years, previously serving as assistant chief judge. He started his career in law as a private practice attorney in 1984 until his appointment to the bench in 2006. He served two terms in the Minnesota State House of Representatives prior to his appointment. Chief Judge Meslow earned his juris doctorate degree from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1984, and his bachelor of arts degree from St. Olaf College in 1981. He is chambered in the Washington County Courthouse in Stillwater, Minnesota.
“I am pleased to have earned the support of my fellow district judges,” said Chief Judge Meslow. “It is an honor to continue to serve the Tenth District as chief judge and continue the collaborative work to meet the needs of the District.”
The Honorable Judge Stoney L. Hiljus was elected to serve as assistant chief judge of the Tenth District. He was appointed to the bench in April 2012. He was first licensed to practice law in 1995. Judge Hiljus earned his juris doctorate degree from Hamline University School of Law in 1995. He earned his bachelor of science degree magna cum laude from Minnesota State University, Mankato in 1992. He is chambered in the Kanabec County Courthouse in Mora, Minnesota.
“I am honored and humbled to have received the support of the Judges of the Tenth District as their next assistant chief judge,” said Judge Hiljus. “I will do my best to support Chief Judge Meslow in his work on behalf of the Tenth District.” 
A chief judge of a judicial district exercises general administrative authority over the courts within the district, including assigning judges to serve in locations throughout the district according to Minnesota state statute. The chief judge of each judicial district serves as a member of the Minnesota Judicial Council, the administrative policy-making authority for the Minnesota Judicial Branch.