News Item
James Moore and Kristin Siegesmund Appointed to fill Fourth Judicial District vacancies

Posted: Friday, November 30, 2012

Today, Governor Mark Dayton announced the appointments of Mr. James Moore and Ms. Kristin Siegesmund as District Court Judges in Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District. Mr. Moore and Ms. Siegesmund will be replacing the Honorable David M. Duffy and the Honorable Lucy A. Wieland, who retired earlier this year. Both seats will be chambered at Minneapolis in Hennepin County.

“Throughout their accomplished careers, James Moore and Kristin Siegesmund have offered exemplary service in the public and private sectors, and have been involved in improving their communities,” said Governor Mark Dayton. “I am confident that their character and depth of experience will serve the people of the Fourth District with both fairness and excellence.”  

James Moore – Mr. Moore currently serves as the Litigation Manager of the Civil Division for the City of Minneapolis, where he is responsible for assigning and supervising all litigation for the city. He previously worked as an Assistant City Attorney for the Civil Divisions of both Minneapolis and Bloomington. Mr. Moore received his B.A. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1981, and his J.D. with honors from Hamline University School of Law in 1985.

Additionally, Mr. Moore is actively involved with the Minnesota State Bar Association’s Civic Education Committee and is a community member of the Minnesota Internship Center School Board. Mr. Moore has also volunteered as a judge for the Hamline University National Mock Trial Competition and as a youth basketball coach. Mr. Moore resides in Plymouth with his family.

Kristin Siegesmund – Ms. Siegesmund works with Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid, where she serves as a Managing/Supervising Attorney for multiple divisions; most recently with the Consumer and Tax Units and previously the Housing and Housing Discrimination Units.  She previously worked as a staff attorney with the Minnesota Disability Law Center and was a commercial litigator at Faegre Baker Daniels, LLP. Ms. Siegesmund received her B.A. with honors from Brown University in 1977 and her J.D. with honors from the University of Michigan Law School in 1980.

Ms. Siegesmund has taught numerous courses at William Mitchell College of Law and served as Chair of the St. Louis Park Human Rights Commission. She has also held numerous volunteer positions with the St. Louis Park Schools and was a member of the Governor’s Advisory Council for Technology for Persons with Disabilities. Ms. Siegesmund resides in St. Louis Park.

Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District consists of Hennepin County.