News Item
Free Valentine’s Day Wedding Ceremonies by Hennepin Judges

Posted: Wednesday, February 12, 2014

WHAT: Fourth Judicial District judges and a deputy administrator will unite 46 couples in matrimony at no charge on Valentine’s Day.

The Honorable William Koch commented, "As a court, we wanted to help celebrate the holiday in a unique way – and to help people easily remember their anniversaries in the future!  This was a fun event for us last year, and we expect it to be even better this year.  Even if you just want to come and watch a special event, we invite you to come to the Government Center over the lunch hour."

WHEN: Friday, February 14, 2014
            11:30 a.m. – Pre-ceremony check-in
            12:00 p.m. – Program starts
            Welcome- The Honorable William Koch, Fourth Judicial District
            Song – “Our Love Is Here to Stay” by George and Ira Gershwin
                     The Honorable Kristin Siegesmund, Fourth Judicial District (vocals)
                     The Honorable Laurie Miller, Fourth Judicial District (piano)
            Trio – Musica Ipsa Loquitor
The Honorable Elizabeth Cutter, Fourth Judicial District (flute),
                     Sally Scoggins (piano) and Eric Nilsson (violin)
            Weddings will occur approximately every 15 minutes.
            1:30 p.m. – Program ends

WHERE: Hennepin County Government Center
              300 South Sixth Street
              Skyway – Public Service Level reflection pool
              Minneapolis, MN  55487

WHO: Forty-six couples will be married in Hennepin County by 19 judges and one deputy administrator. Fourth Judicial District Court Judges Bartolomei, Brandt, Bransford, Carruthers, Conroy, Cutter, Daly, Garcia, Koch, Larson, McKeig, Meyer, Moore, Piper, Quaintance, Ranum, Sheehy, Siegesmund, and Wahl, as well as deputy administrator Fogarty will preside over the marriage ceremonies.

The second annual event spotlights one of the many beneficial services available to the public at the Hennepin County Government Center.

NOTE: Media are welcome to attend. 

For more information, visit the web site at