1st District  

Judicial Branch Home >

Welcome to the First Judicial District

The First Judicial District has 36 judges and more than 250 staff that handle nearly 135,000 cases annually in the counties of Carver, Dakota, Goodhue, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott and Sibley.  The court's mission is "to provide justice through a system that assures equal access for the fair and timely resolution of cases and controversies." 

If you are a pro se (self-represented) litigant or anyone seeking legal information you can access a county webpage to the left and also visit the extensive statewide online Self-Help Center.  The virtual center provides access to general legal information, one-on-one help to learn court procedures, online tools for filling out forms, videos on how to represent yourself in court, one-on-one review of completed court forms, and referrals to community resources and legal services.

Chief Judge
Assistant Chief Judge
District Administrator
Honorable Terrence E. Conkel
Honorable Kathryn D. Messerich
Brian E. Jones
McLeod County
Dakota County
District Administration

Carver - Dakota - Goodhue - Le Sueur - McLeod - Scott - Sibley



Accepting resumes for: Examiner of Titles and Deputy Examiner for McLeod County