4th District  

Courthouse Contact Us 
Phone:  (612)348-2040
Email: Email the Violations Bureau &
Hearing Office
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Monday - Friday
Closed legal holidays

right arrow

Going to Court
parking, maps, transit, more...

ADA Acommodation & Accessibility ADA Accommodation
& Accessibility


 Court Locations
Division 1
Hennepin Co. Govt. Center
300 South 6th Street
Skyway Level
Minneapolis, MN 55487
(612)348-2040 (Crim/Traffic)

Division 1
Public Safety Facility (PSF)
401 4th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55415
(612)348-2040 (Crim/Traffic)

Division 2 - Brookdale
6125 Shingle Creek Pkwy.
Brooklyn Center, MN 55430
(612)348-2040 (Crim/Traffic)

Division 3 - Ridgedale
12601 Ridgedale Drive
Minnetonka, MN  55305
(612)348-2040 (Crim/Traffic)

Division 4 - Southdale
7009 York Ave. S.
Edina, MN  55435-0654
(612)348-2040 (Crim/Traffic)


Judicial Branch Home > 4th District Home >

Tickets & Fines


Ticket Search Ticket Search MN Judicial Branch Tickets & Fines Issued in Other Counties
Online Court Records Court Calendar Search MN Dept Public Safety MN Driver & Vehicle Services (DVS)
Tickets & Fines brochure Tickets & Fines brochure Pay tickets on mobile device Pay tickets on a mobile device
Important: If you pay a citation (ticket), you are pleading "guilty" to the charge(s). You have 30 days from the date when the citation is entered into the court's record system to either pay the ticket or meet with a Hearing Officer. It can be 20 days or longer before a citation gets entered in the court’s system. Look up your citation. 

News & Public Notices

  • Effective July 1, 2015, eFiling and eService will be mandatory for all case types for attorneys, government agencies, and guardians ad litem in Hennepin County and the other 10 eCourtMN pilot counties (Cass, Clay, Cook, Dakota, Faribault, Kandiyohi, Lake, Morrison, Ramsey, and Washington). This requirement is part of recent amendments to the Minnesota Rules of Court, enacted by a Minnesota Supreme Court order issued on April 23, 2015. The amendments were adopted after an extensive process to update the Minnesota Rules of Court to accommodate electronic filing and service in the district courts. For more information on eFiling and eService, check out our eFile and eServe website.
  • PUBLIC NOTICE: Citizens have reported fraudulent calls where they are told that they have a warrant and that they need to pay to resolve the warrant immediately. They are then asked for their credit card information. These calls are not from the MN Judicial Branch. The court DOES NOT call and ask for credit card information over the phone in order to pay for a warrant. If you receive one of these calls, please contact your local law enforcement agency. If you have questions about owing money to the court, please call (612)348-2040 to speak with a clerk.
  • Did you pay to park at an electronic parking meter and you still got a ticket? » Learn more...
  • Effective June 29, 2012: Any delinquent court or citation fine that has been referred to the MN Department of Revenue (DOR) for collection must be paid directly to the DOR and cannot be paid at any Hennepin County District Court location. Read Paying a Fine in Collection.
  • Effective July 1, 2009: Citations issued with multiple charges and an offense date of July 1, 2009 or later will be assessed one "surcharge" per incident. If you have received a multi-charge citation, read more about Fine Amounts on our website.

Types of Tickets & Fines

Many types of citations (tickets) and fines issued in cities in Hennepin County are processed at Hennepin County District Court, including: parking , traffic, criminal, municipal ordinance, boating, and Department of Natural Resources (game and fish).

Payable citations

A "payable" citation is one that does NOT require a court appearance, and payments are made to the court office called Violations Bureau. View Payment Options.

Administrative citations

Some citations are called “administrative" and are not payable to the court, but rather must be settled with the city government where they were issued. If the words "District Court" or "Violations Bureau" do NOT appear on the ticket, it is probably an "administrative" ticket. Carefully read the front and back of the ticket to see how and where you can pay or contest the ticket. MN Statutes § 169.999 allows local governments to issue administrative tickets in certain situations.

Court-required citations

“Court-required” citations are those that require the person who got the ticket to appear in court at a specific date and time. If you got a citation that says “court required,” the court will send you a “Notice to Appear” to the address currently listed on your driver's license or ID, or to the address you gave to the court during the case. You must appear at the hearing or a warrant may be issued for your arrest. Call (612)348-2040 if you need to change the hearing date. NOTE: If the court ordered you to pay a "fine," you cannot pay it online. You must pay court fines by mail or in person. View Payment Options for details.

“Not Guilty” or Cannot Afford to Pay a Ticket

You can meet with a hearing officer about a ticket if you believe that you are not guilty of the charge(s)or you cannot afford the fine. A hearing officer can explain possible options for settling a citation besides pleading guilty or paying the fine. In some cases, they can reduce or dismiss the charges, or give you other options to do community service rather than pay money. Approximately 90% of people who meet with a hearing officer settle their case. If your case does not settle with a hearing officer, it may get scheduled for a court hearing.

« Back to 4th District Court Home