
 
RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER REGISTRATION 

 

PREAMBLE 

Admission to the bar of the State of Minnesota, disciplinary proceedings, and 

continuing legal education for members of the legal profession shall be conducted in 

accordance with rules promulgated by this court.   

RULE 1.  DEFINITIONS 

A.  “Active Status” means a lawyer or judge who (i) has paid the applicable 

required lawyer registration fee for the current year, (ii) is in compliance with the 

requirements of the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education or of 

continuing judicial education, (iii) is not disbarred, suspended, or on permanent 

disability status pursuant to Rule 28 of the Rules on Lawyers Professional 

Responsibility,  (iv) is in compliance with Rule 1.15(i), Minnesota Rules of Professional 

Conduct (MRPC), and (v) is in compliance with Rule 6 of these rules.  A lawyer or judge 

on active status is in good standing and is authorized to practice law in this state.   

B.  “Inactive Status” means a lawyer or judge who has elected to be on 

inactive status pursuant to Rule 2C1, 2C2, 2C3, 2C4, 2C5 or 2C6 of these rules and who 

meets the criteria set forth in subparts (i) through (v) in the definition of Active Status, 

above.  A lawyer or judge on inactive status is in good standing but is not authorized to 

practice law in this state. 

C.  “Judge” means any judicial officer, referee, or other hearing officer 

employed in the judicial branch of the State of Minnesota.   

D.  “Lawyer” means a person admitted to practice law in this state pursuant 

to the Rules for Admission to the Bar.   

E.  “Lawyer Registration Statement” means a document prepared by the 

Lawyer Registration Office that informs a lawyer or judge of the lawyer registration fee 



due and on which the lawyer or judge can certify the lawyer’s or judge’s status and 

compliance with Rule 1.15(i), MRPC, and Rule 6 of these rules.  

F.  “Non‐Compliant Status” means a lawyer or judge who has not met all the 

criteria to be on active status or inactive status.  A lawyer or judge who is on 

non‐compliant status is not in good standing and is not authorized to practice law in 

this state.   

G.  “Private Client.” For the purpose of reporting professional liability 

insurance coverage, the term “private client” excludes the clients of government 

lawyers and house counsel. 

RULE 2.  REGISTRATION FEE 

A.  Required Fee. 

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission 

to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, to defray the expenses of administering 

continuing legal education, to provide an adequate client security fund, to help fund 

legal services programs, and to help fund a lawyers assistance program, each lawyer 

and each judge must pay to the Lawyer Registration Office an annual registration fee.   

B.  Active Statuses. 

Each lawyer and judge must pay an annual registration fee of $218 or such lesser 

sum as is set forth in the following sections.   

1.  Active Status ‐ Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross 

income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year 

must pay an annual registration fee of $193.   

2.  Active Status ‐ Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty. 

A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States must 

pay an annual registration fee of $107.   
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3.  Active Status ‐ Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty ‐ Income Less Than 

$25,000. 

A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States who 

certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the 

income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of 

$82.   

4.  Active Status ‐ Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years. 

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three years 

in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, must pay an annual 

registration fee of $97.   

5.  Active Status ‐ Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years ‐ Income 

Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three years 

in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, and certifies that the 

lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is 

less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $84.50.   

C.  Inactive Statuses. 

1.  Inactive Status ‐ Out‐of‐State. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the 

date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is 

a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, 

(iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of 

law in Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee of $179.   

2.  Inactive Status ‐ Out‐of‐State ‐ Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the 

date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is 

a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, 
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(iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law 

in Minnesota, and (v) certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all 

sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an 

annual registration fee of $154.   

3.  Inactive Status ‐ Minnesota. 

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the 

lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the 

State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in 

this state, and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state must pay an annual 

registration fee of $179.   

4.  Inactive Status ‐ Minnesota ‐ Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the 

lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the 

State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in 

this state, (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, and (v)  certifies that the 

lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is 

less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $154.   

5.  Inactive Status ‐ Retired 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Retirement 

Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive status, 

(ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the practice of law in 

this state, (iv) is at least 62 years of age, and (v) is retired from any gainful employment 

is exempt from payment of any registration fee during the period of the lawyer’s or 

judge’s retirement.  A Retirement Affidavit, once filed, is effective for each succeeding 

year unless the lawyer or judge transfers to active status pursuant to section C7 of this 

rule.   

6.  Inactive Status ‐ Permanent Disability 
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A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Disability 

Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive status, 

(ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the practice of law in 

this state, and (iv) is totally disabled is exempt from payment of any registration fee 

during the period of the lawyer’s or judge’s disability.  A Disability Affidavit, once 

filed, is effective for each succeeding year unless the lawyer or judge transfers to active 

status pursuant to section C7 of this rule. 

 
7.  Transfer from Inactive Status to Active Status. 

A lawyer or judge who is on inactive status must, prior to practicing law or assuming 

judicial responsibilities, (i) promptly notify the Lawyer Registration Office, (ii) complete 

a lawyer registration statement, (iii) pay the applicable registration fee, (iv) complete all 

continuing legal education (CLE) requirements and be transferred to CLE active status, 

(v) comply with Rule 1.15(i), MRPC, and (vi) comply with Rule 6 of these rules. 

D.  Allocation of Fees.   

Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule: 

(1)  Payments of $218 are allocated as follows: 

• $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

• $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

• $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

• $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

• $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

• $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

(2)  Payments of $193 are allocated as follows: 

• $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
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• $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

• $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

• $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

• $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

• $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

(3)  Payments of $179 are allocated as follows:  

• $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

• $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

• $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

• $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

• $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

• $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

(4)  Payments of $154 are allocated as follows:  

• $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

• $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

• $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

• $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

• $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

• $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

(5)  Payments of $107 are allocated as follows:   

• $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

• $7 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

• $24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

• $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  
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• $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

(6)  Payments of $82 are allocated as follows: 

• $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

• $7 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

• $24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

• $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

• $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

(7)  Payments of $97 are allocated as follows: 

• $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

• $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

• $26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

• $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

• $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

• $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

(8)  Payments of $84.50 are allocated as follows: 

• $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

• $8 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

• $26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

• $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

• $12.50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and  

• $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program.   

 

E.  Due Date. 
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Fees under this rule are due and payable on or before the first day of January, 

April, July, or October of each year as requested by the Lawyer Registration Office.   

F.  Notification of Fee Due. 

The Lawyer Registration Office must annually one month prior to the date due, 

mail a lawyer registration statement to each lawyer and judge then in good standing 

except those who have elected inactive retired status pursuant to section C5, above, or 

permanent disability status pursuant to section C6 above. A lawyer registration 

statement must be mailed to the lawyer’s or judge’s address on file with the Lawyer 

Registration Office.  Failure to receive a lawyer registration statement shall not excuse 

payment of the fee.   

G.  Obligation to Notify of Address Change. 

Every lawyer or judge must immediately notify the Lawyer Registration Office of 

any change of address.   

H.  Penalty for Failure to Comply ‐ Non‐Compliant Status ‐ Administrative 

Suspension. 

A lawyer or judge who fails to meet all of the criteria to be on either active or 

inactive status is placed on non‐compliant status, and the right to practice law in this 

state is automatically suspended.  A lawyer or judge on non‐compliant status is not in 

good standing.  A lawyer or judge on non‐compliant status must not practice law in this 

state, must not hold out himself or herself as authorized to practice law, or in any 

manner represent that he or she is qualified or authorized to practice law while on non‐

compliant status.  Any lawyer or judge who violates this rule is subject to all the 

penalties and remedies provided by law for the unauthorized practice of law in the 

State of Minnesota.  It is the duty of each judge to enjoin persons who are not on active 

status from appearing and practicing law in that judge’s court.   

I.  Reinstatement. 
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A lawyer or judge who is on non‐compliant status, who seeks to be reinstated to 

active status or inactive status, must (i) notify the Lawyer Registration Office, 

(ii) complete a lawyer registration statement, (iii) pay all delinquent registration fees, 

(iv) pay the applicable registration fee for the current year, (v) pay a late penalty of $75, 

(vi) complete all CLE requirements and be transferred to CLE active status, (vii) comply 

with Rule 1.15(i), MRPC, and (viii) comply with Rule 6 of these rules.  The Lawyer 

Registration Office may, in hardship cases, waive payment of delinquent lawyer 

registration fees and late penalties.  All late penalty payments are allocated to the 

Lawyer Registration Office to defray registration costs.   

RULE 3.  LICENSE 

A.  Upon payment of the lawyer registration fee and completion of a lawyer 

registration statement, the Lawyer Registration Office must issue and mail to the lawyer 

or judge a license in such form as may be provided by this court, showing the license 

status of the lawyer or judge.   

B.  Upon request and the payment of a fee of $25, the Lawyer Registration 

Office must provide to any lawyer or judge a certificate of active status and good 

standing, provided the lawyer or judge is entitled to the same.   

RULE 4.  SPECIAL FUND 

All money collected from applicants for admission to the bar or as an annual 

registration fee or as payment for a certificate of active status and good standing as 

provided herein shall be deposited in a special fund, as desired by this court, and shall 

be disbursed therefrom only upon vouchers signed by a member of this court.   

RULE 5.  NONRESIDENT COUNSEL 

Nothing herein shall prevent any court in this state from granting special 

permission to nonresident counsel to appear and participate in a particular action or 

proceeding in association with an authorized lawyer of this state.   
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RULE 6.  ANNUAL REPORTING OF PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE 

COVERAGE 

 
  Each lawyer on active status must certify on the lawyer registration statement 
 

(1) whether the lawyer represents private clients; 
 
(2) if the lawyer represents private clients, whether the lawyer is currently 

covered by professional liability insurance; 
 

(3) if the lawyer is covered by professional liability insurance, the name of the 
primary carrier; 

 
(4) whether the lawyer intends to maintain insurance during the next twelve 

months.  
 

Each lawyer on active status must notify the Lawyer Registration Office in 
writing within 30 days if the insurance policy providing coverage lapses, is no 
longer in effect, or terminates for any reason, unless the policy is renewed or 
replaced without substantial interruption. 

 

RULE 7.  ACCESS TO LAWYER REGISTRATION RECORDS 

 Lawyer registration records are accessible only as provided in this rule.   

A.  Public Inquiry Concerning Specific Lawyer.  Upon inquiry, the Lawyer 

Registration Office may disclose to the public the name, address, admission date, 

continuing legal education category, current status, professional liability insurance 

coverage information submitted under Rule 6 of these rules, and license number of a 

registered lawyer or judge, provided that each inquiry and disclosure is limited to a 

single registered lawyer or judge.   
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B.  Publicly Available List.  The Lawyer Registration Office may also 

disclose to the public a complete list of the name, city, and zip code of all registered 

lawyers and judges.   

C.  Lists Available to Continuing Legal Education Providers and the Courts.  

Upon written request and payment of the required fee, the Lawyer Registration Office 

may disclose to a bona fide continuing legal education business a complete list of the 

name, address, admission date, continuing legal education category, current status, and 

license number of all registered lawyers and judges.  The Lawyer Registration Office 

may also disclose the same information to a court or judicial district solely for use in 

updating mailing addresses of lawyers and judges to be included in a judicial 

evaluation program.   

D.  Trust Account Information.  Trust account information submitted by 

lawyers and judges as part of the lawyer registration process is not accessible to the 

public except as provided in the Rules of Lawyer Trust Account Board.   

E.  Use in Case Management Systems.  Lawyer registration records may be 

imported into case management systems for the purpose of linking lawyers to cases and 

storing accurate identification information. When imported into a case management 

system, lawyer registration records may thereafter be disclosed in connection with 

corresponding case information provided that bulk distribution of such records must 

comply with Rule 7.B of these rules. 
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