STATE OF MINNESOTAPRIVATE 

IN SUPREME COURT

C5-84-2139
ORDER AMENDING THE RULES 

FOR ADMISSION TO THE BAR


The Minnesota State Board of Law Examiners filed a petition on June 29, 2007, proposing amendments to the Rules for Admission to the Bar. This Court, in an order filed July 23, 2007, invited written comments on the proposed amendments.  The comment period has now expired.


The court has reviewed the proposals and is advised in the premises.


IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the attached amendments to the Rules for Admission to the Bar be, and the same are, prescribed and promulgated to be effective on January 1, 2008.

Dated: September 24, 2007







BY THE COURT:







______________________________







Russell A. Anderson







Chief Justice

RULE 12.  FEES 

***  

B. Fee for Examination, Not Previously Admitted.  An applicant who meets the following criteria shall submit a fee of $400$500:  

(1) Applying to take the Minnesota examination for the first time; and 

(2) Not admitted to practice in another jurisdiction; and 

(3) Filing on or before the timely filing deadline (October 15 for the February examination, or March 15 for the July examination). 

An applicant meeting the criteria in (1) and (2) above, who files after the timely filing deadline but before the late filing deadline (December 1 for the February examination, or May 1 for the July examination) shall submit a fee of $550$650.  Applications will not be accepted after the late filing deadline.  

C. Fee for Examination, Prior Admission.  An applicant who meets the following criteria shall submit a fee of $750$950:  

(1) Licensed to practice in another jurisdiction more than six months prior to the date of the applicant's Minnesota application; and

(2) Filing on or before the timely filing deadline (October 15 for the February examination, or March 15 for the July examination).  
An applicant meeting the criteria in (1) above, who files after the timely filing deadline but before the late filing deadline (December 1 for the February examination, or May 1 for the July examination) shall submit a fee of $900$1100.  Applications will not be accepted after the late filing deadline.  

D. Fee for Examination for Recently Admitted Applicants.  An applicant applying to take the Minnesota examination who has been licensed to practice in another jurisdiction fewer than six months prior to the date of the applicant's Minnesota application shall submit the fee for examination required by paragraph B of this Rule.  

E. Repeat Examinations.  An applicant who was unsuccessful on the Minnesota examination and is filing on or before December 1 for the February examination, or on or before May 1 for the July examination, shall submit a fee of $400$500 and comply with Rule 4G.  

F. Fee for Admission Without Examination.  An applicant for admission without examination pursuant to Rule 7 (Admission Without Examination) or Rule 10 (Admission by House Counsel License) shall submit a fee of $750$950.  An applicant for admission pursuant to Rule 9 (Admission by Temporary House Counsel License) shall submit a fee of $500$700.  

*** 

***

I.    Refunds of Fees.  A refund in the amount of $125$150 shall be made

when an applicant for the bar examination advises the Board in writing at least ten days prior to an examination of the applicant’s desire to withdraw the application.  No other requests for refund will be granted.
     ***

