
Statewide Standard Citation 
2015.1 Changes 

 

1. Per amendment to the Juvenile Delinquency Court Rules, a child’s race is no longer required to 
be submitted on citations. 
 

2. The Accident /Crash information e.g. Property, Injury, Fatal, Pedestrian has been removed as 
this information does not have an impact on the processing of the citation.   
       

3. Law enforcement requested that the font size for the preprinted offenses for Speeding, No 
Proof of Insurance and No Seat Belt be increased making it easier to read and recording of 
information. 
 

  Speed Minn. Stat. § 169.14, subd. ______,   ______mph  ______  Limit PM, M       3rd in 12               
months 

  No Proof of Insurance Minn. Stat. § 169.791, subd _____  M, GM  
  No Seat Belt Use Minn. Stat. § 169.686.1(a) PM 

 
 

4. Added a checkbox to indicate when a test for a substance other than alcohol was administered.   
 

 AC Taken – AC: __________  Test  type:     Breath   Blood   Urine  Other Substance  Refused  

 

5. Notice was added that a convenience fee will be charged when the method of payment is either 
made online or over the phone .    
  

• Online: Using MasterCard or Visa, access www.mncourts.gov/fines. Have your 
citation number available. A convenience fee will apply. 

• By Phone: Using MasterCard or Visa, call 651-281-3219 in the metro or 1-800-
657-3611 outside of the metro area. Have your citation number available. 
Disponible por teléfono en Español.  A convenience fee will apply. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.mncourts.gov/fines


6. Defendants will have the option of providing proof of insurance to the Minnesota Court 
Payment Center by fax.   
 

To find out if your citation is payable without a court appearance, how much to 
pay, or to pay your fine, or provide proof of insurance prior to payment choose 
one of the following methods: 

 
Fax: Provide proof of insurance, prior to making a payment.  Proof of insurance 
may be faxed to the Minnesota Court Payment Center at 320-231-6507. 

 

7. Notice of imposed surcharges and fees has been updated to include the additional $1 surcharge 
for citations issued in Ramsey County. 
 

A guilty plea will result in a conviction. If convicted, you must pay a state imposed 
surcharge under Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 6. The current amount of the 
required surcharge is $12 for parking-related offenses and $75 for all other 
offenses, and an additional $1 for citations issued in Ramsey County (Minn. Stat. 
§ 169.99). Additionally, a law library fee will be owed. These surcharges and fees 
are included in the total payable amount provided to you by phone or web. 

 
8. Versioning was added to the published citation to assist with tracking changes. 

 
Version: 2015.1 
  

9. The Endangering definition on the officer’s notes has been modified to reflect statutory 
language.  
 

ENDANGERING PERSON OR PROPERTY: OFFICER BELIEVES AN 
OFFENSE WAS COMMITTED IN A MANNER THAT ENDANGERED PERSON 
OR PROPERTY OR BE LIKELY TO ENDANGER ANY PERSON OR 
PROPERTY. CHECKING THIS BOX WILL CONVERT A PETTY 
MISDEMEANOR OFFENSE TO A MISDEMEANOR AND WILL REQUIRE THE 
DEFENDANT TO APPEAR IN COURT.  OFFICER NOTES ARE REQUIRED.  
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