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NONPRECEDENTIAL OPINION 

SMITH, TRACY M., Judge 

 In this direct appeal from a judgment of conviction for malicious punishment of a 

child, appellant Patricia Michelle Jones argues that the district court committed reversible 

error by (1) admitting as evidence a hearsay statement that the child made to his father, 

accusing Jones of abuse; (2) prohibiting Jones from introducing evidence of certain acts of 

domestic abuse allegedly committed by an alternative perpetrator; and (3) admitting 

recordings that allegedly capture Jones yelling at the child. Respondent State of Minnesota 

concedes that the district court committed reversible error by admitting the child’s hearsay 

statement without making the reliability findings required by Minnesota Statutes section 

595.02, subdivision 3 (2024). We, too, agree that the district court erred by admitting the 

child’s hearsay statement and that this error requires reversal of Jones’s conviction and 

remand for a new trial. We do not reach Jones’s other assignments of error. 

FACTS 

 Jones served as a foster parent to the child and his sister. The children lived with 

Jones at her apartment, and no other individuals resided at that apartment. The child was 

three years old at the time of the alleged abuse and four years old at the time of trial. 

 The child’s father occasionally had unsupervised visits with the child. According to 

the father’s testimony at trial, on January 6, 2023, he helped the child use the bathroom 

during an unsupervised visit. While doing so, he noticed bruising on the child’s buttocks. 

The father additionally testified that, when he asked the child about the bruising, the child 
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stated that “[Jones] had spanked him with a stick.” The father reported the child’s statement 

to a caseworker and, along with the child, met with an investigator. 

 The state charged Jones with malicious punishment of a child under four years old 

under Minnesota Statutes section 609.377, subdivisions 1 and 4 (2022). Prior to trial, Jones 

moved the district court to allow her to present evidence of unrelated acts of domestic abuse 

allegedly committed by the child’s father to support her theory that the child’s father 

perpetrated the abuse of which she was accused. The district court denied Jones’s motion 

with respect to the majority of the father’s other alleged acts. Jones additionally moved to 

exclude as evidence audio recordings that allegedly capture her yelling at the child and his 

sister. The district court denied Jones’s motion and allowed the state to play these 

recordings at trial. 

Shortly before the jury trial, the district court found the then four-year-old child 

incompetent to testify at trial. The state then moved the district court under Minnesota 

Statutes section 595.02, subdivision 3, to allow evidence of the hearsay statement that the 

child allegedly made to his father accusing Jones of spanking him. The district court 

granted the state’s motion over Jones’s objection. The state presented evidence of the 

hearsay statement at trial through the father’s testimony. Following the jury’s guilty 

verdict, the district court convicted Jones, stayed imposition of the presumptive prison 

sentence of 12 months and 1 day, and ordered that Jones spend 60 days in jail. See Minn. 

Sent’g Guidelines 4.A, 5.A (2022). 

 This appeal follows. 
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DECISION 

 Jones argues, and the state concedes, that the district court committed reversible 

error by admitting the child’s hearsay statement. We agree. 

 Appellate courts review a district court’s evidentiary rulings, including a decision 

to admit a hearsay statement under section 595.02, subdivision 3, for an abuse of discretion. 

State v. Sime, 669 N.W.2d 922, 927 (Minn. App. 2003). “A district court abuses its 

discretion if it misapplies the law, makes findings unsupported by the record, or resolves 

discretionary questions in a manner that is contrary to logic and the facts on record.” State 

v. Johnson, 979 N.W.2d 483, 502 (Minn. App. 2022), aff’d, 995 N.W.2d 155 (Minn. 2023). 

Appellate courts will reverse a verdict when there is a “reasonable possibility that the 

wrongfully admitted evidence significantly affected the verdict.” State v. Jaros, 932 

N.W.2d 466, 472 (Minn. 2019) (quotation omitted). 

The child’s out-of-court statement would ordinarily be excluded pursuant to the rule 

against hearsay. See Minn. R. Evid. 801, 802. However, Minnesota Statutes section 595.02, 

subdivision 3, under which the district court admitted this statement, allows for certain out-

of-court statements made by young children regarding physical abuse to be admitted as 

substantive evidence. This section provides, in pertinent part: 

An out-of-court statement made by a child under the age of ten 
years . . . alleging, explaining, denying, or describing . . . any 
act of physical abuse of the child . . . , not otherwise admissible 
by statute or rule of evidence, is admissible as substantive 
evidence if: 

(a) the court or person authorized to receive evidence 
finds, in a hearing conducted outside of the presence of the 
jury, that the time, content, and circumstances of the statement 
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and the reliability of the person to whom the statement is made 
provide sufficient indicia of reliability; and 

(b) the child . . . 
(ii) is unavailable as a witness and there is 

corroborative evidence of the act[.] 
 

Minn. Stat. § 595.02, subd. 3 (emphases added). The district court recited most of these 

requirements before granting the state’s motion to introduce the child’s statement. 

In granting the state’s motion to introduce the child’s hearsay statement, the district 

court reasoned: 

In regard to the statement to the father, there is a clear 
understanding and notice to the defense of what that statement 
of the child is. Although the defense is going to argue that the 
father has a motive and is an alternate perpetrator . . . , that has 
not been a determination that’s been made by anyone at this 
time. The Court will allow that substantive statement to be 
discussed or—by the father as far as what the—that one 
sentence that the child said to him about how he received the 
bruises. Certainly, he is subject to cross-examination and 
questioning . . . by the defense as to motive for that or his 
reliability . . . . 
 

So, the Court finds that the witness is unavailable as 
identified by the statute. The witness—or the child is under 10 
. . . . In regard to the statement to the father, the Court will 
allow that, and that will be permitted to be introduced as 
substantive evidence.[1]  

 
A. Admitting the Statement Without the Required Findings 

 We agree with the parties that the district court erred by admitting the statement 

without making the reliability findings required by statute. The district court made no 

 
1 The state additionally moved to introduce a similar statement that the child allegedly 
made to his mother. The district court denied the state’s motion with respect to this second 
statement due to a lack of notice about the contents and context of the statement. 
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findings addressing (1) the time, content, and circumstances of the statement or (2) the 

reliability of the person to whom the statement was made. See id., subd. 3(a). 

As to the first factor, in Sime—a case that also addressed the admissibility of an out-

of-court statement under section 595.02, subdivision 3—we held that “the district court’s 

ruling on the admissibility of the statements was premature without the testimony of the 

witnesses as to the context and circumstances of [the child’s] statements.” 669 N.W.2d at 

927-28. We explained that such testimony allows a district court to consider factors 

including “the manner in which [the child] was questioned, whether leading questions were 

utilized to elicit [the child’s] statements, whether there was consistent repetition of the 

events, [the child’s] manner and emotional state when making the statements, and the 

degree of certainty with which [the] statement was made.” Id. at 928. Here, although the 

district court asked the state about the circumstances of the statement and noted that there 

is information about the contents of the statement, it failed to find that the broader context 

of the statement shows sufficient indicators of reliability. 

As to the second factor, the district court failed to consider whether there is 

information that supports the reliability of the child’s father—the person to whom the 

statement was made. On this point, the district court’s statement that the child’s father has 

not been determined to be an alternative perpetrator falls short of finding sufficient 

indicators of his reliability.  

Both parties also agree that the district court failed to consider whether there was 

“corroborative evidence of the act.” Minn. Stat. § 595.02, subd. 3(b)(ii). Although the state 

concedes that the district court committed reversible error in admitting the statement, it 
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maintains that the record does contain corroborative evidence of the act because the child 

was bruised and Jones had an opportunity to commit the crime. We need not further address 

the question of corroborative evidence because the district court erred by not making all 

the necessary findings under subdivision 3(a). 

 Nor was the hearsay statement clearly admissible under the statute. See State v. 

Carver, 380 N.W.2d 821, 826 (Minn. App. 1986) (stating that a district court’s failure to 

make the findings required by section 595.02, subdivision 3(a), was not reversible error 

because the admitted hearsay statement was “clearly admissible under the statute”), rev. 

denied (Minn. Mar. 27, 1986). We note that, at trial, a police officer testified that the 

victim’s father reported the child’s statement to her, a fact that might slightly bolster the 

credibility of the father’s accusation. But this testimony does not add reliability to the 

context in which the child, the hearsay declarant, made the initial statement. Moreover, at 

the pretrial hearing, no witness testified about the context or circumstances of the child’s 

statement or about the father’s reliability. The scant record that was produced at the hearing 

does not provide a basis to determine that the hearsay evidence was clearly admissible. 

B. Prejudicial Effect 

 We next consider whether there is a “reasonable possibility” that this evidence 

“significantly affected the verdict.” Jaros, 932 N.W.2d at 472 (quotation omitted). Because 

the child’s hearsay statement expressly linked Jones to the abuse at a time in which another 

person had unsupervised visitation with the child, we conclude that there is a reasonable 

possibility that this statement significantly affected the verdict. 
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We therefore reverse Jones’s conviction and remand for a new trial. Because the 

admission of the hearsay statement alone establishes a basis for reversal, we do not address 

Jones’s arguments that the district court erred by excluding evidence of domestic violence 

by an alleged alternative perpetrator and by admitting certain recordings. 

 Reversed and remanded. 
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