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NONPRECEDENTIAL OPINION 

HARRIS, Judge 

 Self-represented appellant challenges an order denying his motion to correct his 

sentence, arguing that the district court abused its discretion and erred by sentencing him 

with a criminal-history score that included custody-status points.  We reverse his sentence 
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and remand for resentencing and imposition of the guideline sentence without the custody-

status points. 

FACTS 

In April 2019, a jury found appellant Bryan Holl guilty of five counts of criminal 

sexual conduct involving his stepdaughter.1  The jury found that all five counts occurred 

from April 2012 through November 2014.2  The victim was nine in April 2012 and eleven 

in November 2014.  Holl appealed his conviction and sentence, and the matter was 

remanded to the district court for resentencing.3 

 On May 6, 2022, the district court amended Holl’s sentence.  The district court 

vacated Holl’s convictions on counts 1, 3, and 5, and sentenced Holl to an executed 

sentence of 60 months’ imprisonment on count 2 and 234 months on count 4.  The 

 
1 Count 5 involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time in violation of 
Minnesota Statutes section 609.343, subdivision 1(h)(iii) (2010).  The remaining counts 
involved single incidents of sexual contact.  Count 1 charged Holl with second-degree 
sexual conduct based on Holl’s description of an incident that occurred during a deer 
scouting trip.  Minn. Stat. § 609.343, subd. 1(g) (2010).  Counts 2 and 3 charged Holl under 
the same statute for incidents that occurred at the residence on the couch and in the 
bedroom.  Id.  Count 4 charged Holl with first-degree criminal sexual conduct based on the 
incident referenced in count 3.  Minn. Stat. § 609.342, subd. 1(a) (2010). 
2 The amended complaint alleged offense dates of April 19, 2012, to November 1, 2014, 
for all counts.  At trial, Holl’s defense counsel objected to instructing the jury on a two-
year date range, while at the same time attaching a specific incident to each count.  The 
state argued that under State v. Rucker, 752 N.W.2d 538, 547-49 (Minn. App. 2008), the 
state did not need to prove specific dates, so long as it proved the abuse occurred within a 
reasonable amount of time.  The district court instructed the jury that the date range was 
“2012 through 2014” on all counts. 
3 See State v. Holl, 949 N.W.2d 461 (Minn. App. 2020) (affirming in part, reversing in part, 
and remanding to the district court for resentencing because the evidence was insufficient 
to corroborate Holl’s confession to count 1 and the district court erred by entering 
convictions on counts 3 and 5), aff’d, 966 N.W.2d 803 (Minn. 2021). 
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sentencing worksheet assigned a custody-status point to each count because Holl was on 

probation between July 24, 2007, and September 15, 2014, for felony DWI.  The district 

court determined that Holl’s criminal-history score was two criminal-history points on 

count 2, and four criminal-history points on count 4. 

 On October 24, 2023, Holl filed a motion to correct his sentence pursuant to 

Minnesota Rule of Criminal Procedure 27.03, subdivision 9.  In part, Holl argued that 

(1) the record did not establish the current offense date within the range as charged, and 

(2) a factfinding hearing was necessary to determine whether Holl was discharged from 

probation before committing the offenses because Holl completed probation within the 

offense-date range.4  Holl requested a hearing (1) to determine the correct offense date and 

resentence without the custody-status point and (2) to determine whether the district court 

violated Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296 (2004).  Following a motion hearing, the 

district court denied Holl’s motion to correct his sentence and determined that the offense 

date was April 19, 2012, and Holl was on probation when he committed the offenses.  The 

district court also determined there was no Blakely violation.  Holl appeals. 

  

 
4 Holl also requested relief under the amelioration doctrine.  See State v. Kirby, 899 N.W.2d 
485, 488-90 (Minn. 2017) (holding that under the common law amelioration doctrine, an 
amendment in the law that mitigates punishment may be applied to acts committed before 
that amendment’s effective date in cases that are not yet final when the change in law takes 
effect).  Holl argued that the 2019 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines modified the decay of 
a prior conviction and requires findings of fact or an admission of a current offense to 
determine if the defendant was discharged from probation before committing the current 
offenses.  The district court determined that Holl did not meet the requirements under 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines 2.B.1.c. (Supp. 2019), and Holl does not challenge this 
decision on appeal. 
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DECISION 

Holl argues that the district court erred by applying one custody-status point to each 

count when it calculated his criminal-history score.  “[A] sentence based on an incorrect 

criminal history score is an illegal sentence.”  State v. Maurstad, 733 N.W.2d 141, 147 

(Minn. 2007).  The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines provide that an offender is assigned 

one custody-status point if, when the offense was committed, the offender was “under some 

form of criminal justice custody,” such as on probation.  Minn. Sent’g Guidelines 

2.B.2.a-b, 2.B.201 (Supp. 2011).  The state must prove a custody-status point applies and 

must do so by a fair preponderance of the evidence.  State v. Maley, 714 N.W.2d 708, 711 

(Minn. App. 2006).  “Fair preponderance of the evidence means that [a fact] must be 

established by a greater weight of the evidence.  It must be of a greater or more convincing 

effect and . . . lead you to believe that it is more likely that the claim . . . is true than . . . not 

true.”  Id. at 712 (quoting State v. Wahlberg, 296 N.W.2d 408, 418 (Minn. 1980)).  When 

reasonable doubt exists as to when a defendant’s criminal act occurred, the issue should be 

resolved in the defendant’s favor.  State v. Goldenstein, 505 N.W.2d 332, 347-48 (Minn. 

App. 1993), rev. denied (Minn. Oct. 19, 1993); see Minn. Sent’g Guidelines cmt. 2.A.02 

(Supp. 2011) (stating the date of offense is important because the date of offense might 

determine whether a custody-status point should be assigned).  “The district court’s 
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determination of a defendant’s criminal-history score will not be reversed absent an abuse 

of discretion.”5  Maley, 714 N.W.2d at 711. 

I. The district court abused its discretion when it applied a custody-status point 
to Holl’s criminal-history score. 

 
Holl argues that the state did not prove the custody-status point applied because 

there was a period of time during the offense-date range that he was not on probation.  We 

conclude that the district court abused its discretion for three reasons, which we will discuss 

in turn. 

First, the district court determined that, based on the amended sentencing order, the 

offense date was April 19, 2012.  But the jury did not find that Holl committed the offenses 

on a specific date.  Instead, the jury found that Holl committed multiple separate offenses 

that occurred sometime in “2012 through 2014.”6  The district court found the offense dates 

were April 19, 2012, which is the date that corresponds to the start of the offense-date range 

charged in the complaint but did not consider other facts to determine the specific date of 

each offense.7  See Minn. Sent’g Guidelines cmt. 2.B.207 (Supp. 2011) (“While the 

Commission recognizes that its policy for determining the presumptive sentence states that 

for aggregated offenses, the earliest offense date determines the date of offense, it believes 

 
5 Respondent filed correspondent stating it agrees with the district court’s analysis, but did 
not serve and file a brief, so we review the case on the merits.  Minn. R. Civ. App. 
P. 142.03. 
6 The jury was not asked to determine the dates that Holl assaulted the victim. 
7 Counts 2 and 4 are not continuing offenses and therefore appellant “did not commit a 
criminal act every day over the period of time he sexually abused the victim.”  State v. 
Woods, 945 N.W.2d 414, 419 (Minn. App. 2020) (concluding that the same statute for 
which appellant here was convicted did not constitute a continuing offense as discussed in 
State v. Washington, 908 N.W.2d 601 (Minn. 2018)). 
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that eligibility for a custody status point should not be limited to the offender’s status at the 

time of the earliest date of offense.”). 

Second, the district court determined that Holl was on probation when he committed 

the offenses because he testified as such at the first sentencing hearing on June 17, 2019.  

At the sentencing hearing, Holl moved for a downward dispositional departure and testified 

in support of his motion.  The following exchange occurred during cross-examination: 

STATE: Okay.  Is it true, Mr. Holl, that you have previously 
been convicted for a felony DWI? 
HOLL: Yes. 
 
STATE: And that was back in 2009? 
HOLL: Yes. 
 
STATE: Do you remember how long your probationary term 
was at that time? 
HOLL: Seven years. 
 
. . . . 
 
STATE: And that seven-year period included 2012 to 2014, is 
that right? 
HOLL:  Yes. 
 
STATE: And that’s the time period where you were abusing 
[victim], right? 
HOLL: Yes. 
 
. . . . 
 
STATE: And so you would agree that while you were on 
felony supervision, you were actively violating the law. 
HOLL: Yes 
 

In his testimony, Holl did not admit to committing the offenses on a specific date, but stated 

generally that he was on probation between 2012 and 2014, and that he was abusing the 
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victim during this time period.  Because Holl was discharged from probation on 

September 15, 2014, this testimony does not on its own establish that Holl was on probation 

when the offenses occurred. 

Third, the district court determined, “there is no uncertainty as to whether [Holl] 

was discharged from probation before the date of the current offense.”  There is no 

uncertainty that Holl was on probation in April of 2012.  But the record does not establish 

a specific date of each offense sufficient for the district court to determine whether a 

custody-status point applies during sentencing. 

At trial, the victim testified to multiple instances of sexual abuse that began when 

she was eight and continued until she was 13.  The victim also testified about an incident 

in the bedroom and an incident on the couch.  An investigator testified that he interviewed 

Holl and Holl disclosed four times that he abused the victim, but Holl did not disclose 

specific dates.  Holl stated that the abuse started when the victim was around ten years old, 

and the last incident occurred when the victim was around 11.  Holl told the interviewer he 

was about 90% honest during the interview and the investigator concluded that it seemed 

like Holl was “holding back” during the interview.  The investigator used the victim’s 

school records to determine that the abuse started when the victim was nine.  The jury 

found that count 2 corresponded to the couch incident and count 4 corresponded to the 

bedroom incident.  At sentencing, the district court determined that the incidents occurred 

in the order charged in the complaint.8  Overall, there was limited evidence produced at 

 
8 Holl’s defense counsel disagreed with this determination, arguing that the order in which 
the incidents occurred was not clear. 
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trial related to the approximate dates of each offense, and we conclude that the record is 

insufficient to establish the specific dates of each offense within the offense-date range 

found by the jury. 

II. The district court violated Blakely by independently determining the dates of 
each offense.  

 
Holl argues under Blakely that the district court erred by applying the custody-status 

points to his criminal-history score because the jury did not determine the dates of each 

offense.  542 U.S. at 303.  A Blakely violation occurs when the district court determines 

“any disputed fact essential to increase the ceiling of a potential sentence, including factual 

findings related to offense dates, without the defendant waiving the right to a jury’s 

determination on that issue.”  State v. Reimer, 962 N.W.2d 196, 198 (Minn. 2021) 

(quotation omitted).  We review a Blakely violation under a harmless-error standard.  State 

v. DeRosier, 719 N.W.2d 900, 904 (Minn. 2006).  “An error is not harmless if there is any 

reasonable doubt the result would have been different if the error had not occurred.”  Id. 

The district court determined that, under State v. Brooks, 690 N.W.2d 160, 163 

(Minn. App. 2004), Blakely did not apply to Holl’s case.  We disagree.  While “Blakely 

does not mandate that a jury find, or a defendant admit, the existence of a custody status 

point,” the district court cannot make independent findings that increase a defendant’s 

sentence.  Id. at 163-64; see Blakely, 542 U.S. at 304 (“When a judge inflicts punishment 

that the jury’s verdict alone does not allow, the jury has not found all the facts which the 

law makes essential to the punishment, and the judge exceeds his proper authority.” 

(quotation omitted)). 
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Holl’s Blakely rights are directly implicated here.  In Woods, we held that the 2019 

sentencing guidelines required findings of fact or admission regarding the current offense 

date to determine whether the appellant was discharged from probation before the current 

offense was committed.  945 N.W.2d at 420-21.  Like in Woods, it is necessary to find the 

specific date of each offense before the district court can determine whether custody-status 

points apply because Holl was not on probation for the entirety of the offense-date range.  

If the jury found the offenses occurred after September 15, 2014—the date Holl was 

discharged from probation—Holl would not receive a custody-status point, reducing the 

presumptive sentence.  See DeRosier, 719 N.W.2d at 901 (reversing and remanding 

appellant’s sentence because the jury did not find an offense date and the district court 

determined a date of offense that increased appellant’s sentence in violation of Blakely). 

Here, the jury found Holl guilty of multiple separate offenses, occurring sometime 

between 2012 and 2014.  The jury was never asked to determine a specific date of any of 

the offenses.  The jury made no specific findings that any of Holl’s acts of criminal sexual 

conduct occurred on April 19, 2012.  The district court independently determined the 

offense dates and sentenced Holl as if the single incidents of criminal sexual conduct 

occurred before September 15, 2014, although the evidence at trial did not clearly address 

the dates of each offense.  See Goldenstein, 505 N.W.2d at 348 (holding that district court 

erred by sentencing as though a single incident of sexual misconduct occurred after 

August 1, 1989, when offense-date range was May 1987 through May 1990 and no trial 

testimony addressed date of offense).  This erroneous determination increased Holl’s 

sentence in violation of Blakely.  And, although Holl testified at the sentencing hearing that 
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he was on probation between 2012 and 2014 and abusing the victim during this time, Holl 

never waived his Blakely rights to have the fact finder make findings on the date of the 

offense for the purpose of increasing his criminal-history score by a custody-status point.  

DeRosier, 719 N.W.2d at 902 (“[A] defendant’s Blakely rights can only be waived if the 

waiver is knowing, intelligent, and voluntary.”). 

In sum, there was no evidence presented at trial that Holl committed any act of 

criminal sexual conduct on April 19, 2012, and the evidence did not conclusively show that 

the offenses occurred before mid-September 2014.  The district court erred in determining 

the date of Holl’s offense without receiving Holl’s Blakely waiver.  The district court’s 

independent determination of the offense dates increased Holl’s sentence in violation of 

Blakely.  Because there is uncertainty in the record as to when the offenses were committed, 

there is reasonable doubt that the outcome would be different had the error not occurred, 

and the Blakely violation is not harmless.  Therefore, we reverse and remand for 

resentencing.  Because assigning custody-status points requires findings of fact regarding 

the offense dates to determine whether Holl was discharged from probation before the 

offenses were committed, and because the district court record fails to establish specific 

offense dates within the date range charged, on remand the district court shall impose the 

presumptive sentence without assigning custody-status points. 

 Reversed and remanded. 
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