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STATE OF MINNESOTA
October 22, 2024
IN SUPREME COURT OFFICE OF
APPELLATE COURTS
ADMI10-8041

ORDER REGARDING MINN. STAT. § 260.67 AND
THE RULES OF JUVENILE PROTECTION PROCEDURE

The Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure govern court procedures for juvenile
protection matters in the juvenile courts in Minnesota. Juvenile Protection Procedure Rule
23.02, subd. 2, gives parties in juvenile protection cases 20 days from service of a final order
to file an appeal. The timing provisions of Rule 23.02, subd. 2, are a departure from Minn.
Stat. § 260C.415 (2022), which provides a 30-day deadline to file an appeal in juvenile
protection cases. In 2009, we amended Rule 23.02, subd. 2, to shorten the appeal deadline
from 30 to 20 days to expedite the process based on best interests of the child considerations
and federal standards for permanency timelines. /n re R.K., 901 N.W.2d 156, 162 n.8 (Minn.
2017). The provisions of Rule 23.02 govern over the conflicting statute, as the supreme court
has the primary responsibility under the separation of powers doctrine to regulate matters of
trial and appellate procedure, such as the time to file an appeal. Inre J.R., Jr., 655 N.W.2d 1,
3 (Minn. 2003). Since 2009, parties have had 20 days to file an appeal in a juvenile protection
case.

The Minnesota Legislature enacted new legislation this year entitled the Minnesota
African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality Act (“the Act”).

Act of May 21, 2024, ch. 117. The Act includes Minn. Stat. § 260.67, subd. 5, a new statute



that provides the time to file an appeal for certain parties in certain juvenile protection
proceedings. That statute provides:
Subd. 5. Appeals. Notwithstanding the Minnesota Rules of Juvenile Protection
Procedure, rule 47.02, subdivision 2, a parent of an African American or a
disproportionately represented child whose parental rights have been

terminated may appeal the decision within 90 days of the service of notice by
the court administrator of the filing of the court's order.!

The Act, including Minn. Stat. § 260.67, subd. 5, will be phased in. The Act is
effective January 1, 2025, in Hennepin and Ramsey Counties. The Act is effective statewide
on January 1, 2027.

Minnesota Statutes section 260.67, subdivision 5, creates a conflict with Juvenile
Protection Procedure Rule 23.02, because the statute gives a parent of an African American
or a disproportionately represented child whose parental rights have been terminated 90 days
to file an appeal instead of the 20 days provided by Rule 23.02. This conflict relates directly
to a procedural rule in judicial proceedings, the time to file an appeal in a juvenile protection
case.> Under the separation of powers doctrine, the judicial branch controls procedural rules

in judicial proceedings. When there is a conflict between a rule and a statute regarding the

! Minn. Stat. § 260.67, subd. 5, incorrectly references Juvenile Protection Procedure

Rule 47.02, subd. 2. It should instead cite to Juvenile Protection Rule 23.02, subd. 2, which
provides the time for filing an appeal. The rule was renumbered from 47.02 to 23.02 in
2019 as part of the Juvenile Protection Rules revision. Minn. R. Juv. Prot. P. 23 advisory
comm. cmt.—2019.

2 This conflict is the same as the conflict that has existed between Juvenile Protection
Procedure Rule 23.02, subd. 2, and Minn. Stat. § 260C.415 since 2009. There, Rule 23.02,
subd. 2, governs the time to appeal. In re J.R., Jr., 655 N.W.2d at 3.



time to file an appeal in a juvenile protection case, the Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure
control the process.

Based on all the files, records, and proceedings herein,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that notwithstanding Minn. Stat. § 260.67, subd. 5, the
time to file an appeal in a juvenile protection case shall continue to be governed by the Rules
of Juvenile Protection Procedure, which provides 20 days to file an appeal in a juvenile
protection case.

Dated: October 22, 2024 BY THE COURT:

‘7/@@38%7_,

Natalie E. Hudson
Chief Justice



