State of Minnesota District Court

County of: Court File Number:

Judicial District: Case Type:

Plaintiff/Petitioner

VS/AND
Defendant/Respondent
Inmate’s Affidavit to Request Fee Waiver (FEE201)
Minn. Stat. §§ 563.01, 563.02
1. lama partyinthis action. | am not represented by counsel. | have been convicted of a felony, and |

am committed to the custody of the Commissioner of Corrections. | am either confined in a state
correctional facility, or | have been released from a state correctional facility under Minn. Stat. §§
244.065 or 244.07.

In good faith, | ask for a court order waiving court fees and costs.
| believe that | have good reasons for making this request.
I am including my pleadings with this Affidavit.
=>» Examples of pleadings include the petition, complaint, answer, motion, appeal, etc.

=>» NOTE: If you are the person bringing the case, known as the plaintiff, Minnesota law
requires you to provide the Court with a copy of the Complaint before serving the Complaint
on the opposing party.

The following information is required. You must complete each section.

| have the following dependents:

=>» Dependents are people who rely Dependents are people who rely on you for most of their

financial support, and can include parents, children, or extended family members.

Income.
| receive income from the following sources (check all that apply):
[JJob/wages J Unemployment [ Social Security

[ Child Support L1 Spousal Support L Trust Income
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[1 Other (for example: disability, pension, rental income):

- Include income from all the sources you checked above. To calculate
monthly income you get from a job:

e Multiply the number of hours worked per week by your hourly pay to
get the weekly amount.

e Then multiply that by 4.33 to get the monthly amount.

e Insummary: hours per week x hourly pay x 4.33 = monthly income
before taxes and deductions).

- If your monthly income changes a lot from month to month, then you should
answer the question below based on your average monthly income for the
last 6 months. To calculate your average income:

e Add your total monthly income from the last 6 months.
e Then divide that number by 6
e Insummary: last 6 months of income added together + 6 = average

monthly income.

My total monthly income (before taxes and deductions) is $

OR

[0 My average monthly income (before taxes and deductions) is $

5. Marital Status.
| am [ not married (skip to #6).
OR
I am (check all that apply): [ married [Iseparated [ getting a divorce

My spouse’s total monthly income (before taxes and deductions) is $ . The
source of that income is

OR

| do not know my spouse’s income because:
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6. Monthly Expenses.
| pay the following monthly expenses:

- Include amounts you pay for yourself, your spouse or significant other, your
minor children, and other dependents in your home; if you do not have the
expense, list SO.

Rent or mortgage: S Child support: S
Utilities: S Childcare: S
Food: S Medical insurance: S
Car payments: S Cell phone: S
Car insurance: S Other (explain): S
Spousal support: S
7. Debt.
lam$ in debt.
- Do not include any car loan, real estate loan, or mortgage.
8. Cash and Accounts.
| have the following money available:
- List S0 if you don’t have these things.
Cash: S Accounts: S

(checking, savings, and/or credit union)

9. Other Assets.

| own the following property (list the equity value of the item, which is what you could sell the item
for minus the amount you still owe on the item, if anything):

Vehicle 1
Year and make: S
Vehicle 2
Year and make: S
House | live in now S
Other real estate S

Other personal property (jewelry, stocks, bonds, etc.; list separately):
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10. Other reasons why | cannot afford to pay the court fees (explain unusual medical expenses,
emergencies, credit card payments, student loans, reasons that the listed money is not available to
you, or other circumstances to help the judicial officer understand your situation):

11. Minnesota Department of Corrections.

=>» According to Minn. Stat. § 563.02, subd. 2(1), an inmate must exhaust the inmate complaint
procedure developed by the Commissioner of Corrections before starting a civil action
against the Department of Corrections.

[ I am not asking for a fee waiver in order to start a civil action against the
Department of Corrections.

OR

L] I have exhausted the inmate complaint procedure developed by the

Commissioner of Corrections before starting this action against the Department
of Corrections.

12. The Underlying Claim.

=» According to Minn. Stat. § 563.02, subd. 2(2), an inmate’s request for a fee waiver
must include a statement that the inmate’s claim is not substantially similar to a

previous claim brought by the inmate against the same party, arising from the same
facts, and in which the case was adjudicated on the merits.

L] My claim is not substantially similar to a previous claim brought against the

same party, arising from the same facts, and which resulted in an
adjudication on the merits.

13. Inmate’s Identity.

My full name is:
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First:

Middle:

Last:

Suffix (for example, Jr. or I11): or [ None

| have been known by the following other names:

OR

U] This is the only name | have been known by. There are no other names.

14. Inmate Account and Authorization.

L1 1 have attached a copy of my most recent monthly statement showing the balance in
my inmate account. | authorize the Court to obtain at any time during the pendency of
this action a current statement of the balance of my inmate account.

=» NOTE: An inmate who has funds in an inmate account may only proceed as a
plaintiff in a civil action by paying either the applicable court filing fee or 50% of
the balance in the inmate account, whichever is less. If 50% of balance of the
inmate account is used to commence the civil action, the Commissioner of
Corrections will continue to draw money out of the inmate account until the
filing fee is paid in full.

OR

] I do not have an inmate account.

| declare under penalty of perjury that everything | have stated in this document is true and correct.
Minn. Stat. § 358.116

Date: Signature:

Name:

County and state where signed: Address:
City/State/Zip:
Phone:

Email:
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