## Fourth Judicial District Procedure for requesting an Order Setting Bail

This procedure is for requesting an Order Setting Bail for an individual who is in-custody on a probable cause (PC) hold and no formal charges have been filed with the court. The process varies depending on when the request is sought, either on a Workday or a Weekend (Saturday, Sunday, or a court holiday).

## **Workday Requests:**

- 1. The requesting attorney must eFile a proposed order<sup>1</sup> into court file 27-CR-CV-[2 digit Year]-3 "Order to Set Bail"
  - a. Proposed orders/requests cannot be accepted by paper or submitted to any judge other than the Signing Judge.
- 2. The proposed order will be routed to the Signing Judge for review.
- 3. If the request is granted,
  - a. Court administration will email the signed order to In Custody Records at the iail.
  - b. Court administration will e-file the signed order into the CR-CV case listed above and a courtesy copy will be e-mailed to the requesting attorney.
- 4. If the request is rejected, court administration will email the requesting attorney to inform of the rejection.

## **Weekend or Holiday Requests:**

- 1. The requesting attorney must provide a proposed order<sup>2</sup> to jail staff at the window at In Custody Records.
- 2. Jail staff will route proposed order to the Weekend Duty Signing Judge.
  - a. Requests for setting bail are reviewed at 10am each day of the weekend/holiday. Any requests submitted after 10am will not be reviewed until the next day at 10am.
- 3. Jail staff will inform the requesting attorney of the judge's decision.
- 4. If the request is granted, the paperwork will be used to update jail records to facilitate defendant posting bail.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> A template proposed order can be found at <u>Minnesota Judicial Branch - Hennepin County District Court</u> (mncourts.gov).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> *Id*.

State of Minnesota,	
Plaintiff,	Order Setting Bail on Non-felony DWI
VS.	
	Court File No. 27-CR-CV3
Defendant.	
Defendant	, DOB,
was arrested on or about	at approximately in the
City of	. County of Hennepin, on the suspicion of
	, and is presently being held in the Hennepin County Jail.
☐ Attorney	affirms the anticipated charges are <sup>1</sup> :
□ Gross misdemeanor DWI <u>or</u> □ Misdemeanor DWI; AND	
2. Defendant's license has not been canceled as inimical to public safety (DAC-IPS).	
☐ Attorney	has spoken with Attorney
who represents the City of	, at telephone number,
who $\square$ does $\square$ does not object to the following which is <b>HEREBY ORDERED</b> :	
1. ☐ Gross Misdemeanor Bail: \$12,00	0 <b>OR</b> □ Misdemeanor Bail: \$4,000.
2. Bail is Without Conditions.	
3. Defendant must attend all court ap	pearances.
Date:	Judge of District Court

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> If arrested for felony DWI (1st Deg. DWI) or license has been canceled as inimical to public safety (DAC-IPS), the person **must** be detained until their first court appearance. Minn. Stat. 169A.40, subd. 3(b).