Mn Judicial Branch Logo
Find Court

Home > Appellate Courts > Supreme Court >

Supreme Court Opinions

 Click to subscribe


Appellate Courts will begin transmitting all notices, orders, and opinions electronically.

Beginning no later than July 1, 2011, the appellate courts will send notices, orders, opinions and correspondence related to pending cases to attorneys in those cases by e-mail rather than postal mail.  All attorneys with pending appellate cases who have not already registered an e-mail address should do so immediately.  Unrepresented parties with pending appellate cases may also participate in this e-notification system by registering an e-mail address.  Please go to for instructions how to register your e-mail address. 






A14-0223       Contractors Edge, Inc., Appellant, vs. City of Mankato, Respondent.
                     Court of Appeals.
           1.   When the district court did not explain why Minn. R. Civ. P. 54.02 certification was necessary, the claims at issue arose from the same set of facts, and the record does not otherwise provide a basis for certification under Minn. R. Civ. P. 54.02, the district court abused its discretion in certifying the order as a final partial judgment.
           2.   When a district court abuses the discretion given in Minn. R. Civ. P. 54.02 to certify an order as a final partial judgment, the resulting judgment is not final and is not immediately appealable.
           Reversed.  Chief Justice Lorie S. Gildea.
           Dissenting, Justices David L. Lillehaug and David R. Stras.

A14-1542       Jacob Stephen Brown, petitioner, Appellant, vs. State of Minnesota, Respondent.
                     Hennepin County.
           The postconviction court did not err when it summarily denied appellant’s petition for postconviction relief because his claims are time-barred under Minn. Stat. § 590.01, subd. 4(a) (2014) and none of the exceptions in Minn. Stat. § 590.01, subd. 4(b), are satisfied.
           Affirmed.  Justice Christopher J. Dietzen.

A13-2350       In re Petition for Disciplinary Action against Herbert Azubuike Igbanugo, a Minnesota
                     Attorney, Registration No. 191139.
                      Supreme Court.
           A 90-day suspension is the appropriate sanction for an attorney who, among other things, failed to communicate with clients, failed to credit client fees, attempted to collect fees that had already been paid, failed to diligently represent clients, and sent harassing letters in an effort to collect legal fees.
           Per Curiam.



A14-1076       In re Petition for Disciplinary Action against Joseph Michael Capistrant, a Minnesota Attorney, 
                     Registration No. 187112.
                     Supreme Court.
           Indefinitely suspended.  Justice Alan C. Page.



Filed - May 19, 2015

(Petitioner indicated in Italic Type)

1.        Judy Brown vs. Judith M. Lee – A14-1031 – Denied
2.        Harold David Yaritz vs. State of Minnesota – A14-1113 – Denied
3.        State of Minnesota vs. Tony Don – A14-0261 – Denied
4.        State of Minnesota vs. Jeffrey Nicholas Aase – A13-2200 – Denied
5.        State of Minnesota vs. Damien Lashaun Nelson – A14-0810 – Denied
6.        Hassan Mohamed Abdillahi vs. State of Minnesota – A14-1795 – Denied
7.        State of Minnesota vs. Justin Thadeus Amick – A13-2312 – Denied
8.        County of Washington vs. Walker Properties of Woodbury II, LLC, et al.,
           Kevin Shoeberg, Defendant – A14-2101 – Denied (Petition for Accelerated Review)
9.        Kristopher Lee Roybal vs. Tom Roy, Commissioner of Corrections – A14-2021 –
10.      Brett Thomas Green vs. State of Minnesota – A15-0377 – Denied
11.      State of Minnesota vs. Miguel Angel Martinez-Duran – A14-0166 – Denied
12.      State of Minnesota vs. Spidel Wayne Browder – A14-0595 – Denied
13.      State of Minnesota vs. Jared Armand Cobb – A14-0422 – Denied
14.      State of Minnesota vs. Donald William LaQuier Jackson – A14-0667 – Denied
15.      State of Minnesota vs. Joshua Alan Pourrier – A14-0568 – Granted/Stayed
16.      Douglas Neil Raasch vs. State of Minnesota – A14-0848 – Denied
17.      State of Minnesota vs. Donald Robert Edwardson – A14-0265 – Denied
18.      Jamy Hegseth f/k/a Jamy Jager vs. American Family Mutual Insurance Group –
           A14-1189 – Granted
19.      Phillip Anthony Roberts vs. State of Minnesota   – A14-0822 – Denied
20.      State of Minnesota vs. Aaron Benjamin Jacobs – A14-1245 – Denied
21.      State of Minnesota vs. Rafael O’Toole Watson – A14-0743 – Denied
22.      State of Minnesota vs. Richard Handsome Carter – A14-0695 – Denied
23.      State of Minnesota vs. Thomas Ardell Gentry – A14-0262 – Denied
24.      In the Matter of the Contest of the Special Election held on November 4, 2014, for 
           the purpose of the passage of a ballot question for Independent School District No. 2310,
           Sibley County, Minnesota, Sibley East Public Schools, Nathan Kranz, contestant vs. Sibley
           East Public Schools, Independent School District No. 2310,     contestee, Steve Simon,
           Secretary of State for the State of Minnesota, contestee – A14-2167 – Denied
25.      State of Minnesota vs. Michael Nelson Preston – A14-1194 – Denied
26.      State of Minnesota vs. Joseph Duane Gustafson, Jr. – A14-1098 – Granted/Stayed
27.      Gregory B. Lindwall vs. Country Preferred Insurance Company, et al. – A13-2292 –
           Stay Vacated/Denied
28.      In the Matter of the Welfare of the Child of:  K.L. and F.T., Parents. – A14-1758 – 
           Denied (5-5-15)
29.      In the Matter of the Welfare of the Children of:  C.A.S., and C.L.K., Parents. – A14-1722 –
           Denied (5-13-15)


Opinion Sets

Opinion sets contain all opinions and orders.  The sets are compressed into files that must be unpacked before opening them in your word processor. Follow the links and instructions below to do so. If you do not have Microsoft Word, download a free Word Viewer from Microsoft: Get Word Viewer

Click Here to Download May 20, 2015, Opinion Set in Word 2010 format (self extracting EXE file).

  1. Click the above link.
  2. Choose the "Open" option on the File Download screen.
  3. Choose the "Run WinZip" option and extract the files to a location of your choice.
  4. Open the extracted files using Microsoft Word.  

Click Here to Download May 20, 2015, Opinion Set in a Rich Text Format (self extracting EXE file).

  1. Click the above link.
  2. Choose the "Open" option on the File Download screen.
  3. Choose the "Run WinZip" option and extract the files to a location of your choice.
  4. Open the extracted files. 

Click Here to Download May 20, 2015, Opinion Set in a Zipped Rich Text Format.

  1. Click the above link.
  2. Save the unzipped file to your computer.
  3. Choose the "Open" option on the Download Complete screen.
  4. Extract the files to a location of your choice. Windows and Macintosh users can use the free Alladin Expander to decompress the ZIP file.
  5. Open the extracted file. 




The Adobe Reader must be used to view or print the opinions.  
Click "Get Adobe Reader" button to download Adobe Reader free of charge.