News Item
Matthew M. Quinn and Shan C. Wang Appointed to Fill Seventh Judicial District Vacancies

Posted: Friday, August 18, 2017

Today, Governor Mark Dayton announced the appointments of Matthew M. Quinn and Shan C. Wang as District Court Judges in Minnesota’s Seventh Judicial District. Mr. Quinn will be replacing the Honorable Vicki E. Landwehr, and will be chambered at Milaca in Mille Lacs County. Mr. Wang is filling a new district court judgeship created in the Seventh Judicial District by the Minnesota Supreme Court, and will be chambered at St. Cloud in Stearns County.
“Mr. Matthew Quinn and Mr. Shan Wang bring diverse professional and volunteer experience to this important role,” said Governor Dayton. “I thank Mr. Quinn and Mr. Wang for agreeing to serve the people of our state as District Court Judges for Minnesota’s Seventh Judicial District.”
About Matthew M. Quinn
Mr. Quinn is the Chief Deputy Stearns County Attorney, where he handles cases related to data practices, firearms, and advises and trains law enforcement. Previously, he was an adjunct professor of aviation law at St. Cloud State University, First Assistant Mille Lacs County Attorney, and an associate attorney at Barna, Guzy & Steffen. He earned his B.A. from St. Cloud State University, and his J.D. from William Mitchell College of Law.
Mr. Quinn is a volunteer at Joy Christian Center and a member of the Central Minnesota Child Advocacy Center Administrative Board, Minnesota Children’s Alliance Public Policy Committee, and the Stearns County Municipal League.
About Shan C. Wang
Mr. Wang is the Assistant Chief of the Criminal Division in the Stearns County Attorney’s Office, where he supervises the adult criminal division. Previously, he was an Assistant Stearns County Attorney and a judicial law clerk to the Honorable Regina M. Chu. He earned his B.A. from Chicago State University and his J.D. from the University of Minnesota Law School.
Mr. Wang is the President of the St. Cloud Public Library Board of Trustees, serves on the Board of Directors of the Stearns-Benton Bar Association, is a member of the Minnesota Asian Pacific American Bar Association, and is the past president of the John E. Simonett American Inn of Court.
Minnesota’s Seventh Judicial District consists of Becker, Benton, Clay, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, and Wadena Counties.
More information on the Commission on Judicial Selection, as well as vacancies it is currently considering, can be found at