Associate Justice Margaret H. Chutich

Minnesota Judicial Center
Supreme Court
(651) 297-7650

Associate Justice Margaret H. Chutich
Memorable Cases
Advice for Aspiring Legal Professionals
Advice for Advocates Appearing Before the Court
Symbols of Justice


  • Appointed by Governor Mark Dayton to the Minnesota Supreme Court on Mar. 17, 2016. Current term expires Jan. 2019.
  • Appointed by Governor Mark Dayton to the Minnesota Court of Appeals on Feb. 16, 2012. Elected in 2014.


  • J.D., cum laude, University of Michigan Law School, 1984
  • B.A., University of Minnesota, 1980
  • University of Zagreb (studied Croatian language), 1980-1981

Past Employment:

  • Assistant Dean, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota
  • Deputy Attorney General, Assistant Attorney General, Minnesota Attorney General’s Office
  • Assistant United States Attorney, District of Minnesota, Criminal Division
  • Attorney, Opperman Heins & Paquin
  • Attorney, Tanick & Heins
  • Law Clerk, Hon. Diana E. Murphy, United States District Court, District of Minnesota

Professional Memberships:

  • Hennepin County and Minnesota State Bar Associations
  • Minnesota Women Lawyers
    • Advisory Council
    • Strategic Planning Task Force, 2014 – 2015
  • Lavender Bar Association
  • National Association of Women Judges
  • International Women’s Forum

Professional and Community Activities:

  • Director, YWCA of Minneapolis, 2008 – 2014
  • Member, Twin Cities Dunkers, 2013 – present
  • Member, University of Minnesota “M” Club
    • Former Director, 2002 – 2007
    • Co-chair, National “M” Club 2003 Hall of Fame Banquet
    • Liaison to women’s tennis team, 2005 – 2007
  • Moot Court Competition Judge, University of Minnesota Law School, Hamline University School of Law
  • Mentor, University of St. Thomas Law School
  • Lifetime Member, University of Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletics Advisory Committee, 2003 – present
  • Member, Advisory Council for Women’s Athletics, University of Minnesota, 1990 – 1996
  • Volunteer, “Everybody Wins!” Reading program


  • 2017 Alumni of Notable Achievement Award, University of Minnesota College of Liberal Arts