Supreme Court Opinions


Appellate Courts will begin transmitting all notices, orders, and opinions electronically.

Beginning no later than July 1, 2011, the appellate courts will send notices, orders, opinions and correspondence related to pending cases to attorneys in those cases by e-mail rather than postal mail.  All attorneys with pending appellate cases who have not already registered an e-mail address should do so immediately.  Unrepresented parties with pending appellate cases may also participate in this e-notification system by registering an e-mail address.  Please go to the Clerk of Appellate Courts page for instructions how to register your e-mail address.


Please visit the Minnesota State Law Library's Appellate Opinions Archive for previously published Supreme Court Opinions.

NOTE: If you are having trouble accessing the tabs on your mobile device, you may view all Opinions and Orders on a single page.


FILED Wednesday, July 17, 2019


A18-1805        Kroll Ontrack, LLC, Relator, vs. Commissioner of Revenue, Respondent.
                         Tax Court.
            Because the cumulation of information on the taxpayer’s computer system is not available to all of the taxpayer’s customers, the system does not qualify for the capital-equipment exemption in Minn. Stat. § 297A.68, subd. 5 (2018).
            Affirmed.  Chief Justice Lorie S. Gildea.

A17-1426        State of Minnesota, Respondent, vs. Colton Tyler Boettcher, Appellant.
                         Court of Appeals.
            The court of appeals erred by applying a factual-relationship standard, rather than a direct-causation standard, when considering whether fire damage to real property was a result of appellant’s offense.
            Reversed and remanded.  Justice G. Barry Anderson.

A18-1678        Wal-Mart Real Estate Business Trust, Relator, vs. County of Anoka, Respondent.
A18-1679        Tax Court.
            1.   Retail-store properties that lease space within the store to vestibule occupants are income-producing properties under the mandatory-disclosure provisions of Minnesota Statutes section 278.05, subdivision 6(a) (2018).
            2.   Because the property owner failed to produce the information required by Minnesota Statutes section 278.05, subdivision 6(a), by August 1 of the taxes-payable year, the tax court correctly dismissed the owner’s petitions.
            Affirmed.  Justice Margaret H. Chutich.
            Took no part, Justice G. Barry Anderson.

A19-0199        Chadd A. Smith, Respondent, vs. Carver County and Minnesota Counties Intergovernmental Trust, Relators.
                         Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals.
            1.   In a claim for workers’ compensation benefits where the alleged injury is post-traumatic stress disorder arising out of and in the course of employment, Minnesota Statutes § 176.011, subd. 15(d) (2018), requires the employee to prove that the employee has been diagnosed with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) by a licensed psychologist or psychiatrist and that the diagnosing professional used the latest version of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) in making a diagnosis.  The statute does not require a compensation judge to conduct an independent assessment to verify that the diagnosis of a psychologist or psychiatrist conforms to the PTSD criteria set forth in the DSM before accepting the expert’s diagnosis.
            2.   The Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals erred by reversing the compensation judge’s choice between two competing medical experts because the expert opinion adopted by the compensation judge had an adequate factual foundation for the diagnosis.
            Reversed.  Justice Paul C. Thissen.



 A17-1922        In re Petition for Disciplinary Action against Matthew David McCollister, a Minnesota Attorney, Registration No. 0390048.
                          Supreme Court.
            Reinstated and placed on probation for 2 years.  Justice David L. Lillehaug.
Opinion SetsOpinion sets contain all opinions and orders. The sets are compressed into files that must be unpacked before opening them.

Opinion Set in a Zipped Word Document Format

  1. Click the above link.
  2. Save the unzipped file to your computer.
  3. Choose the "Open" option on the Download Complete screen.
  4. Extract the files to a location of your choice.
  5. Open the extracted file.

Opinion Set in a Zipped Rich Text Format

  1. Click the above link.
  2. Save the unzipped file to your computer.
  3. Choose the "Open" option on the Download Complete screen.
  4. Extract the files to a location of your choice.
  5. Open the extracted file.


FILED Wednesday, June 26, 2019

(Petitioner indicated in Italic Type)

1.      Michael Anthony Thibodeaux vs. Drew Evans, as Superintendent of the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension – A18-0983 – Denied
2.      Elverna Marie Bedeau vs. Drew Evans, as Superintendent of the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension – A18-1128 – Denied
3.      State of Minnesota vs. William Joseph Sullivan – A17-0426 – Denied
4.      State of Minnesota vs. Tomas Tiniguar-Turquiz – A19-0159 – Granted/Stayed
5.      State of Minnesota vs. Sharmarke Sahal Musse – A18-0425 – Denied
6.      BFI Waste Systems of North America, LLC, d/b/a Pine Bend Landfill vs. Laura Bishop, in her capacity as the Commissioner of the Minnesota
         Pollution Control Agency, et al. – A18-0963 – Denied
7.      State of Minnesota vs. David Alan Nielsen – A18-0553 – Denied
8.      State of Minnesota vs. Scott Alan Klund – A17-1021 – Denied
9.      State of Minnesota vs. Desean Demetrius Crayton – A18-0653 – Denied
10.    Samuel Zean vs. Mary T. Inc., et al. – A18-1586 – Denied
11.    Abdiaziz H. Hirsi vs. ARCH Language Network, Inc. d/b/a ARCH Language, et al. – A18-1076 – Denied
12.    State of Minnesota vs. Leon Travis Franklin – A18-0701 – Denied
13.    State of Minnesota, by its Commissioner of Transportation vs. Rosemary R. Elbert, et al. – A18-1280 – Granted
14.    State of Minnesota vs. Marlow Vincent Labatte, Jr. – A18-0926 – Denied
15.    In re Welfare of C.A.B.H., Child – A18-1347, A18-1372 – Denied
16.    State of Minnesota vs. Elwin Louis Klimek – A18-1092 – Denied
17.    State of Minnesota vs. Cody Douglas Thurstin – A18-0616 – Denied
18.    State of Minnesota vs. De’Aries Calvin Collins – A17-0422 – Denied
19.    State of Minnesota vs. Larry Roy Kiefat, Jr. – A18-0696 – Denied
20.    In the Matter of Midway Pro Bowl Relocation Benefits Claim – A19-0237 – Granted
21.    In re Adam C. Steele, Adam C. Steele vs. Sarah M. Held – A19-0497 – Denied
22.    Charles M. Waters vs. Comcast of Minnesota & Wisconsin – A19-0147 – Denied
23.    Minnesota Chamber of Commerce, et al. vs. City of Minneapolis – A18-0771 –  Granted
24.    In re the Matter of the Welfare of the Child of: S.S. and A.H., Parents – A19-0597 – Denied

Filed – June 24, 2019

 1.       Bruce Clark, et al. vs. City of Saint Paul, et al. – A19-0916 – Petition for accelerated review – Granted