4th District  

Judicial Branch Home > 4th District Home > Tickets & Fines >

Late Fees & Collections

Ticket IMPORTANT! If you pay a citation, you are entering a plea of "guilty" to the charges. You have 30 days from when the citation (ticket) is entered into the court's record system to either pay the fine or meet with a Hearing Officer. It can take 20 days or longer for a citation to be entered in the court’s system. Check the status of a citation.

Ticket Holder Does Not Respond within 30 Days

When there is no response to a citation, or the fine is not paid within 30 days from the date when the citation (ticket) is entered into the court's record system, a late fee of $5 is added to the fine amount due. The court mails a late notice to the defendant at the address listed on the defendant's driver's license or ID with the options for handling the ticket by the due date.

Ticket Holder Does Not Respond within 55 Days

If the defendant fails to pay the fine (plus $5 late fee) within 55 days of the due date, another delinquency (late) fee of $25 is added to the fine amount due.

Suspension of Driver's License

All unpaid fines and late fees for traffic or vehicle equipment related citations are sent to the Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) division of the MN Dept. of Public Safety with a request that the defendant’s driver’s license be suspended until the citation has been resolved. DVS is required to grant those requests and suspend the drivers' licenses.

Collections

All unpaid fines and late fees may be sent to a collection agency for collection. This agency uses collections methods such as Minnesota tax refund recapture, notices, phone calls and other typical collection methods. The court may hire a private collection agency or use the services of the MN Department of Revenue (DOR). NOTE: A 20% collection fee is added to cases the are sent to collections.

Paying a Fine in Collection

Unpaid court or citation fines that are in collection with the MN Department of Revenue (DOR) must be paid directly to the DOR and cannot be paid at any Courthouse.

Payment Options
In Person You may pay in person at the office of the MN Department of Revenue located at 600 North Robert Street, St. Paul, MN 55101. Cash, checks, and money orders are accepted in person between 8:00am and 4:15pm, M-F.
With Credit Card Go to www.payMNtax.com or call 1-855-947-2966. NOTE: There is an additional fee for using this payment method.

Select the "Minnesota Debt Referred to Revenue" payment category on the screen. NOTE: Payments made on that website may take up to ten (10) days to be remitted to the DOR.

With Bank Account Go to DOR e-Services or call 1-800-570-3329. NOTE: To make a payment online, you must have the collection notice that the DOR mailed to you. Do not try to make a payment without that notice because it gives you identifying information required to process the online payment. If you were told that your fine has gone to collections, but you have not yet received your collection notice, please contact the DOR at 1-800-657-3909.
By Mail Send to:
MN Department of Revenue
Collection Division
P.O. Box 64564
St. Paul, MN 55164-0564
Questions on Paying a Fine in Collection?
Website Frequently Asked Questions - MN Dept. of Revenue
Phone (651)556-3003
(800)657-3909
outside Metro area
Fax (651)556-5116
Email MDOR.collection@state.mn.us
Mail MN Dept. of Revenue
Collection Division
P.O. Box 64564
St. Paul, MN 55164-0564

 

« Back to Tickets & Fines Home

« Back to 4th District Home