Judge Dean C. Eyler

Hennepin County Courthouse
Fourth Judicial District
(612) 348-6000

Chambers Phone: (612) 348-7655
Law Clerk: (612) 348-7672

Fourth Judicial District Judicial Officers

Judge Dean C. Eyler


Appointed on January 8, 2024 by Governor Walz. 


J.D., with high distinction, University of Iowa College of Law, 1996
B.A. with highest honors, University of Northern Iowa, 1993


  • Partner, Lathrop GPM (formerly Gray Plant Mooty), 2003-2023
  • Associate, Dorsey & Whitney, 1997-2003
  • Adjunct professor, William Mitchell College of Law, 2000-2001
  • Law clerk to the Honorable Donald P. Lay, United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, 1996-1997

Professional Memberships:

  • American Intellectual Property Law Association, past chair of Trademark Law and Trademark Litigation Committees
  • Minnesota State Bar Association, Appellate Section Counsel (2014-2016)
  • American Bar Association
  • Federal Bar Association
  • Hennepin County Bar Association
  • Minnesota Intellectual Property Law Association

Professional and Community Activities:

  • Minnesota Urban Debate League, Advisory Board (2009-2023)
  • The Advocates for Human Rights, Board of Directors (2019-present) and former volunteer attorney
  • Volunteer Lawyers Network, former volunteer attorney, Housing Committee member and former co-chair, Benefactors Board member (2022-2023)
  • Good Samaritan Discipleship (building a school in Liberia), board member (2008-present)
  • Edina High School, former high school debate coach